AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (271 Views)
Accepted Solution

valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

271 Views, 10 Replies
04-05-2013 06:46 AM

my valves i have created are inserting a lot larger than they actually are.

 

anyone know why this might be happening?

Active Contributor
shallmark
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 2 of 11 (264 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-05-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

I always start with an existing block and modify so that it is an equal scale.  Try that out and see what happens.

_________________________
Scott Hallmark

Autodesk© Inventor© 2013 Certified Professional
My Plant 3D Notes
ActsOneEight
Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 3 of 11 (262 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-05-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: shallmark

my blocks i have used are the right size, when i insert one using 'insert' it comes in at the right size, but when i use the same block in the catalogue editor and import it into the spec, it comes into the drawing at the wrong size.

 

the software is somehow scaling the block up,  but i cant figure out how or why.

Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 4 of 11 (223 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 01:17 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

Does anyone have any ideas about this?

Mentor
attila_vallyon
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 5 of 11 (217 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 02:46 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

That is because the inch-mm difference. The software put a 25.4 scale factor.

It depends on how you made the block.

When you create a block there is a block unit selector (inch or millimeter).

Regards,
Attila Vallyon
Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 6 of 11 (213 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 03:13 AM in reply to: attila_vallyon

ok, i have fixed the blocks now so they are the right size in inches (they were in mm). The units of the drawing the blocks are in is also set to inches.

 

i recreated the blocks in the catalogue, reloaded the spec.

 

they are still coming into plant 3d 25.4 times too big.

 

Do you know why this is happening?

Mentor
attila_vallyon
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
Message 7 of 11 (210 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 03:21 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

Yeah,

I got the same problem.

I just scaled down the model to 0.03937, created a new block and recreated the cataloge item.

I really don't know why is that. Could be a bug...

Regards,
Attila Vallyon
Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 8 of 11 (207 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 03:38 AM in reply to: attila_vallyon

hi,

do you do this in autocad with the units set to mm or inches?

Distinguished Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 9 of 11 (204 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 04:04 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

I have just tried this a few different ways, ive tried scaling down and up by various ammounts but the valve always comes into p3d the exact same size regardless of how i have scaled it.

 

surely this means that it must be something to do with p3d and not how the origional block is created?

Active Contributor
shallmark
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 10 of 11 (198 Views)

Re: valves i created are inserting a lot larger than they should

04-08-2013 05:46 AM in reply to: phil.cooper

This may be a silly question, but have you purged the blocks out since you made the change?  Have you tried inserting them into a different model that you have not inserted them into before?

_________________________
Scott Hallmark

Autodesk© Inventor© 2013 Certified Professional
My Plant 3D Notes
ActsOneEight
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.