AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Contributor
hendriksegveld
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 1 of 5 (373 Views)

studbolt length

373 Views, 4 Replies
11-29-2011 01:17 AM

In the ASME Pipe and Fitting Catalog, I select BoltSet, RF, 150LB, Studbolt-Boltset

For the 1"-150LB, RF, Flange connection the studbolt length L= 63.5 mm (2.5") according catalog.

When I create a 1"-150LB flange connection in the 3D drawing and generate a isometric, the given length in the BillOfMaterial L= 70mm. For this connection we use studbolt length L= 65mm. How (where) can I change the "Round up to nearest" factor to 5mm instead of 10mm? I already changed this setting for wafer bolts under project properties (joint settings), but this is only for the wafer bolts. For 2"-150LB connection L= 82.55 mm in catalog, on BOM L=90mm, should be L=85mm

Please advise, with kind regards, Henk Segveld (henk.segveld@zeton.nl)

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 5 (359 Views)

Re: studbolt length

11-29-2011 02:18 PM in reply to: hendriksegveld

Edit the length in the catalog itself, and then add it to the spec if you have to. You are correct in that wafer fittings, the bolts automatically work out the length, for everything else, the bolt lengths are hard coded in the catalog/spec.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
hendriksegveld
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 3 of 5 (346 Views)

Re: studbolt length

11-30-2011 02:36 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Hallo Tomislav,

 

I just checked your comment and I will give you my results.

As attachment you see a screenprint from my isometric BOM. I have drawn a pipeline with all flange connections.

In blue you see the length in mm as in catalog (63,5 mm) in spec this is noticed as 2,5" and in BOM on isometric the boltlength changed to 70mm and I want to have this dimension 65mm. There must be somewhere a calculation or a round up, because why change 63,5mm in catalog in 70 mm on isometric? With kind Regards, Henk Segveld

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 4 of 5 (327 Views)

Re: studbolt length

11-30-2011 02:19 PM in reply to: hendriksegveld

Can I ask are you using 2011 or 2012?



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
hendriksegveld
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 5 of 5 (318 Views)

Re: studbolt length

11-30-2011 11:28 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Hallo Tomislav,

Thank you for reply.

I use Plant3D 2012

Henk Segveld

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.