AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
danielvprz
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-16-2010
Message 1 of 5 (502 Views)

empty catalog

502 Views, 4 Replies
11-29-2010 09:21 AM

Gentlemen,

 

A little help. How do I create an empty catalog to insert customized parts?

 

Thanks!

 

Daniel

Contributor Bob
Contributor
Bob
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 2 of 5 (498 Views)

Re: empty catalog

11-29-2010 10:02 AM in reply to: danielvprz

I had the same problem. There was no "empty" selection as shown in Ursula's video. I had to contact our re-seller and they in turn contacted Autodesk. I was then emailed the "empty" .pcat file.

Mentor
awerning
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
Message 3 of 5 (295 Views)

Re: empty catalog

09-05-2011 11:00 PM in reply to: danielvprz

Still no empty.pcat in Plant 2012, but it only took about 5 min to make one.

 

1) Create new catalog named empty.pcat and set the ASME Valves Catalog as your source (this is the smallest file size of all the catalogs to copy)

 

2) Go to the catalog editor tab and make sure you are set to edit the empty catalog, then highlight one row in the lower "Catalog Browser" section and then hit cntl-A to select all rows (this will take a few minutes depending on your computer...be patient)

 

3) Once all the rows are highlighted select the "Delete Component" button (this will take a few minutes depending on your computer...be patient)

 

4) Save your catalog

 

Enjoy!

Employee
RSFAdsk
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎02-27-2009
Message 4 of 5 (273 Views)

Re: empty catalog

09-07-2011 03:39 PM in reply to: awerning

:smileyhappy: Which is exactly how that file was created for the video.  Attached is an empty.pcat for 2012.



Richard Frank
AEC Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 5 of 5 (234 Views)

Re: empty catalog

12-13-2011 07:15 AM in reply to: awerning

Just one note on the valve catalogs. If you create a new catalog from existing using the ASME Valve catalog to start with, be cautious about removing everything. You will want to keep the actuators if plan to use those for your custom valve bodies.

 

Or, you can copy the actuators from the ASME Valve catalog into your new catalog or the blank catalog provided.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community