AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 1 of 3 (173 Views)
Accepted Solution

Working with existing 2D backgrounds for ORTHO creation

173 Views, 2 Replies
05-03-2013 11:56 AM

I have not figured out a good way to accomplish this.

 

For our plant, over the years, we have created 2D ortho drawings of the entire site. We call these 'grids' as they are broken up into managable pieces.  They have everything in them; pipe, equipment, steel, electrical, etc..

 

We would like to use these grids as the backgrounds for our P3D 2014 generated ORTHOS.  This way we don't have to model everything to create a background.

 

Can you do this?

 

When I've tried to insert the 'grid' into the ORTHO viewport, the grid disappears.  When I try to draw anything in the paperspace, it disappears.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

Product Support
quentin.contreras
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 2 of 3 (157 Views)

Re: Working with existing 2D backgrounds for ORTHO creation

05-06-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: EricNyh

I was able to draw in paper space and not have it disappear. The thing you need to do is the make a new layer for the "GRID". You also have to make sure the layer VP Freeze setting is set to Thawed for that layer. Also, if the ortho view is updated, the VP Freeze setting of the "GRID" layer  will be automatically set back to Frozen. You will have to go back into your layers and turn it back to Thawed for your "GRID" to be shown.

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Quentin Contreras
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 3 of 3 (135 Views)

Re: Working with existing 2D backgrounds for ORTHO creation

05-07-2013 01:14 PM in reply to: quentin.contreras

That worked.  Thanks Quentin!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community