AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
Bryanf88
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
Message 1 of 6 (209 Views)

Working with a project that's on the network

209 Views, 5 Replies
01-28-2013 04:30 AM

    I am having to work on a project that was started and is currently kept in its entirety on our network drive here at work. I need to be able to work from home every now and then and I don't have access to our network files and folders. I tried just copying the entire plant folder over to my C drive because that includes all the files that I am currently working with but I was unable to do certain things like cut new ortho views and a few other odd quirks. 

 

    Is there a "pack and go" style export feature for Plant 3D 2013 that I should be using to be able to work on a project located on the network from my C drive? I also don't want to run into any issues while syncing the files that I have worked on off the network with the files on the network to update for everyone else. 

Product Support
quentin.contreras
Posts: 315
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 2 of 6 (173 Views)

Re: Working with a project that's on the network

01-30-2013 10:44 AM in reply to: Bryanf88

Plant 3D does not have a "Pack and Go" feature. Just to verify, you did copy the entire project folder?

 

So, are you able to get into each Plant 3D drawing file and you are able to add and make changes with no problems? Is it just the ortho views and other odd quirks that you are experiencing?

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Quentin Contreras
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 536
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 3 of 6 (167 Views)

Re: Working with a project that's on the network

01-30-2013 02:09 PM in reply to: quentin.contreras

You might find also, that the project configuration calls up things like DWT files and borders from network locations, and because you're running off your C:\ now, that those paths won't be found.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 4 of 6 (154 Views)

Re: Working with a project that's on the network

01-31-2013 02:43 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

To take the files with you is not a good idia , better an the only god way

access from home to your office , then there will be no problem

 

cw

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
Distinguished Contributor
philip
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Message 5 of 6 (141 Views)

Re: Working with a project that's on the network

01-31-2013 04:01 PM in reply to: Bryanf88

if you are taking the file home via a laptop you can make the directories of the project available off line so every time you disconnect your laptop from the system it will sync the files/paths etc onto you computer and back when you log back into the office system. (not tried it myself)

Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 6 of 6 (134 Views)

Betreff: Working with a project that's on the network

01-31-2013 11:30 PM in reply to: Bryanf88

so noboy know how P3D works , so why you are writhing ?

 

IT DOSENT WORK , just for the one how have a problem to hear .

 

not even Vault are able to handel it ( dosent mater what ADSK say )

 

if you take Files out of the Projekt or copy them an someone else work on the same file or made changes in the

config of the Projekt .... ITS GON

 

cw

( turn arond an shake the head )

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community