AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Member
A_Wigle
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 1 of 5 (387 Views)

** Undefined block # error

387 Views, 4 Replies
08-21-2012 11:24 AM

I am trying to change the location of a piece of equipment. For a bit of background, the equipment source file is xrefd into an equipment layout where it is then converted and tagged as P3D equipment. My issue arrises when I need to move the equipment. I open the source file of the equipment, move the equipment save and then close. I reload the equipment in my equipment layout. The equipment does not move and comes up with a error, "** Undefined block #-1803268720". How do I move a piece of equipment? Does P3D not allow equipment to be moved once it has been converted to equipment?  

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 5 (385 Views)

Re: ** Undefined block # error

08-21-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: A_Wigle

Plant 3D probably doesn't expect to have an xref turned into a piece of equipment.  insert the equipment as a block.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Active Member
A_Wigle
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 3 of 5 (334 Views)

Re: ** Undefined block # error

09-12-2012 04:04 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe
Unfortunately, that does not work in our situation. The projects are large scale and require collaborative effort, hence the need for an xref. We have converted our models to P3D equipment so that we can use the piping features and the various report generators.
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 4 of 5 (333 Views)

Re: ** Undefined block # error

09-12-2012 04:16 AM in reply to: A_Wigle

Hmm. Weird, I know it has problems with moving xrefs, as it reads directly to the source file for coordinate and other information.  For example, when using the drawing ortho graphics, it will use the location of the objects in the source file (not the moved xref).  I assume this would apply for xrefs converted to equipment as well.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 5 (324 Views)

Re: ** Undefined block # error

09-13-2012 04:20 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Has the xref been detached or unloaded?  That may change some of the block names used.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.