AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 1 of 24 (2,210 Views)

Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

2210 Views, 23 Replies
02-07-2012 01:38 AM

On a previous occasion I asked was it a good time to switch from CadWorx to Plant 3D. At the time it was a resounding no as I could not find anybody to give it a tick of approval on a large project.

 

With the latest release of Plant 3D, Autodesk appears to have fixed most issues, I would appreciate any feedback from the users.

 

We will be using Plant 3D in conjunction with Inventor, normal AutoCAD and Prosteel, therefore it will not be the dominant software on the project, is this a problem?

 

Has Plant 3D been successfully used on a large project? did you come across any major issues.

 

What is the main advantage over CadWorx Plant?

 

Any feedback would be appreciated.

 

Patrick

Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 2 of 24 (2,183 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

02-07-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

The first difirance: Cadworx is Intergraph that works in AutoCAD (Autodesk product) and Plant3D is Autodesk and work in Autodesk... Plant3D usually will have better integration.

In case of Cadworx you need 2 licences for one seat and in case the Plant3D only one.

NAvisworks integration is better with Plant3D.

The integration with sql server is better with Plant3D.

 

 I think that Plant3D win in all aspects.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Valued Contributor
RyanBotha
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-15-2007
Message 3 of 24 (2,094 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-16-2012 12:27 AM in reply to: ybogdanov

I'm sure there is more going for P3D than that. What about some functionality comparisons, and final drawing production, ISOs, etc. How does it stack up there. I know the new CADWorx 2013 packs some punch...

Contributor
335-33329912
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 4 of 24 (2,072 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-17-2012 03:17 AM in reply to: RyanBotha

Both Solutions do 3D Piping, Iso's, BOM's etc. Even modelling is going to be similar as lets face it, there are only so many ways in which you can route piping.

 

I do like the fact that CADWorx is still using Isogen, I am not sure why Autodesk decided to pursue their own isometric extractor. There is also the S3D and SPF intrgration with Integraph's bigger brother. To my knowledge, CADWorx is the only solution that can intelligently integrate with S3D.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,102
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 24 (2,063 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-17-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: 335-33329912

ISOGEN is pretty much the only name in the game of isometric generation - that needs to change.  At least there is *starting* to be some badly needed competition from ideas like online isometric generation in The Labs.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 6 of 24 (2,054 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-17-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: 335-33329912

Seriously? Have you seen the new isometric engine.  The development lead for CADWorx was in a room where one of our guys showed the isometric engine, and even he was blown away. 

 

Nobody loves isogen.  

 

FYI, I setup a new client's title block with a BOM and cutlist in a minute using the Plant 3D iso package.  Try that with isogen. :smileyhappy: 

 

So, CADWorx has no concept of a project manager, so the db reports can't be correct unless you have someone monitoring what drawings are saved in the database.

 

The validation palette from AutoCAD Plant 3D is so much more powerful than anything CW has.

 

Reports in Plant 3D are more configurable and can be output to a consistent format.

 

Routing is pretty much the same between CW 2013 and Plant 3D.

 

I haven't seen the latest iteration of CW 2013's spec and catalog manager, but last I saw, P3D abilities to export/import data to Excel beat what they offered.  

 

Plant 3D has an .net api...which lets you do almost anything.

 

I wasn't aware CADWorx and S3D actually talked now....I'd like to see that.

 

So when you get the P3D suite you also get Navisworks to view your project.

 

CW has a pretty expensive viewer (Smart Plant Review) that costs about as much as the entire Plant 3D suite.

 

There is a free viewer distributed with CADWorx (CADWorx Design Review), but I haven't ran across many people who like using it.  It's kind of awkward.

 

Just a few thoughts...

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Contributor
335-33329912
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 7 of 24 (2,051 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-17-2012 10:37 PM in reply to: PatrickByrne

I love Isogen. Maybe I just know how to work it. :smileywink:  I do agree that alot of people are intimidated by it.

 

You really should get your hands on a copy of 2013, you will be pleasantly suprised.

 

 

Valued Contributor
RyanBotha
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-15-2007
Message 8 of 24 (2,041 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-17-2012 11:32 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

@David - by far the best response comparing CW to P3D. Thank you

Member
Chadrix
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-18-2012
Message 9 of 24 (2,004 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-18-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

I do not know much about P3D, but I do know that CADWorx 2013 is 100 miles from previous releases, with further enhancments on the summer horizon including .vue export to SP review.

 

Again, I cant speak for P3D at all, but I would advise having a good look at CADWorx 2013 before making any kind of switch, it is quite wonderful.

 

ISOGEN is a monster for sure, but CADWorx development is working on taming its intergration as we speak.

Chad Snider | Applications Specialist
Plant Design Solutions
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 10 of 24 (1,972 Views)

Re: Switching from CadWorx to Plant 3D

05-23-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: Chadrix

Just reminded of another reason why I like the Isometric package in Plant 3D, it doesn't get picked up by antivirus software like Isogen does sometimes.  Just sayin.

 

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community