AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
milan.blom
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 1 of 4 (209 Views)

Suppress continuing components

209 Views, 3 Replies
08-09-2013 01:53 AM

We use Autopie as a stress package. We use the PCF from Plant3D to import into Autopipe

 

It seems when importing a PCF, also the continuing components on the connecting line (dashed on the iso) are converted.

 

The is annoying when importing several PCF's of one model.

 

Is there a way to suppress continuing components on the isometric? In that case I can make a custom iso style for Autopipe export.

Active Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎07-11-2012
Message 2 of 4 (128 Views)

Re: Suppress continuing components

12-25-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: milan.blom

Hi,

Our company is considering to purchase a stress analys system.

Since we are using plant3D right now.Can you share some pro and con of the Autopipe?

 

Thank you first for your time.

Active Contributor
milan.blom
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 3 of 4 (89 Views)

Re: Suppress continuing components

01-05-2014 11:26 PM in reply to: winner117

Hi,

 

We used to have Caesar II and switched to Autopipe for the following reasons:

- Easier modelling

- Easier operation (in Caesar the input and output are handled by different modules, so you have to switch back and forth a lot when trying out different designs)

- Easier setup of dynamic analysis

- Cheaper in licensefees and maintenance

 

Concerning import from Plant3D, both can use the PCF's and both reuquire you to check the model afterwards on materials, schedules, support types, pressure and temperatur and such. Autopipe at the moment has some issues with olet connections (it converts them disconnected, so you have to manually reconnect them), but I'm confident this will be resolved in the future (it has been brought unde rthe attention of development). Caesar II import is also not wihtout issues all the time.

 

By the way, the mentioned problem with importing continuing components has been resolved in the latest version, as well as the ability to import more than one PCF at the same time and have them combined.

Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 4 of 4 (59 Views)

Re: Suppress continuing components

01-08-2014 05:22 PM in reply to: milan.blom

Try this:

 

Go to your Iso Style folder and open IsoConfig.xml in notepad. Look for the following line:

 

<IsoContinuationComponents MaxCount="3" IncludeFlanges="false" />

 

Change MaxCount to have a value of 0 (zero).

 

Save file and exit.

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community