AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Member
moondogggg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-20-2009
Message 1 of 3 (250 Views)

Spec change

250 Views, 2 Replies
04-07-2010 12:13 AM
Hallo everybody,

I have a question about the SPEC CHANGE.

I have a pipeline in my model which is modelled with the spec A. The spec for this line has been changed to spec B and I need to replace the old spec with the new spec.
I’ve tried to use “Spec Update Check” to make the change but it doesn’t work.
Is there another way to do this?
The old and the new spec are identical (both spec are 150# CS) only component descriptions have been changed)

Kind regards,
Alex
Alumni
EileenForan
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 2 of 3 (250 Views)

Re: Spec change

04-09-2010 11:12 AM in reply to: moondogggg
Hi, moondogggg:

I have asked one of our developers to help with your request. Here is his response. Let me know if this answers your question or if you need more help.

If it is about changing the line's spec from A to B, then use Context Menu/Append to selection/Line number, then fire up property palette and change the Spec property to Spec B.


Thanks,

Eileen Foran
Autodesk


Eileen Foran
Community Program Manager
Autodesk Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.

.
Employee
ausdag
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Message 3 of 3 (250 Views)

Re: Spec change

04-26-2010 08:46 AM in reply to: moondogggg
Hi Alex

Yes, we can do that. The Spec Update function can be used if you have done any changes in Spec A, after you have routed your pipe with Spec A. In this case, it will update the existing component from Spec A, with new value from your updated Spec A.

If you want to change from Spec A to Spec B on a existing pipe, you need to do follow.
• Right click on your pipe and select “Append to Selection” by “connected Part” or “Line Number”
• Select then properties and change your spec in the properties box.

It will change your spec, but if you have any fit to fit, you need to adjust this after spec name change.

Regards,
Dag Austrheim
Autodesk

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community