AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 5 (308 Views)

Spade & Spacer

308 Views, 4 Replies
11-27-2012 09:56 PM

When placing a SPADE between 2 flanges, I need the BOM to show the SPADE aswell.

Is there a set-up in the spec editor for this?

Product Support
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 5 (243 Views)

Re: Spade & Spacer

12-06-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: vannmannen

Hi,

 

If the SPADE has been inserted in the model it should be listed in the BOM using the Long Description (Family) name. It does also require an Iso Symbol Type and Iso Symbol SKEY.

 

If you look at the Paddle Blind in the ASME Pipes and Fitting catalog you will see how it is setup for that.

 

Thanks,
Dan

 



Dan Scales
Mentor
PatrickByrne
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
Message 3 of 5 (232 Views)

Re: Spade & Spacer

12-06-2012 04:28 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

I believe he is looking for two objects in the BOM.

 

Unlike a Paddle Blind the Spade also comes with a spacer therefore he needs to have two objects listed in the BOM, the spade itself and the spacer. It is used on larger diameter pipes, normally the spacer would be assembled in the pipe line with the spade been kept in storage until required.

 

Previously in CadWorx I created a very thin Gasket object and renamed it as the paddle blind, this way it does not show up on the Isometric but still appears in the BOM.

 

How would we show this in Plant 3D

Valued Contributor
vannmannen
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 4 of 5 (228 Views)

Re: Spade & Spacer

12-06-2012 05:09 PM in reply to: vannmannen

Correct Patrick: when you place the SPACER I need the SPADE to come up in the MTO automatically as you always purchase these as a set.

 

The quick-fix solution of placing a thin gasket will of course work but that is not the way it should be done.

 

The program should place 2 components where 1 of them has thickness of 0mm. This would give you 2 items in the BOM but no deviation in the face-to-face dimensions.

Product Support
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 5 of 5 (181 Views)

Re: Spade & Spacer

12-13-2012 03:08 AM in reply to: vannmannen

Hi,

 

For now I think you will need to go with the workaround.

 

I will log a feature enhancement wish with our developers for the functionality you need.

 

Thanks,
Dan

 



Dan Scales

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community