AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Contributor
kaiser6977
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-27-2010
Message 1 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Section Plane

1093 Views, 9 Replies
04-20-2010 07:18 AM
I am confused by the section plane, or I must not be using it correctly. I would assume you can insert a section plane to "hide" geometry while working in the 3d space. This does not seem to be the case. Can someone explain to me what the section plane is used for, and how to use it?

I am looking for a way to create a section "volume" or to create a cube around certain geometry inside the cube, while everything outside the cube is hidden.

Is this possible?
Employee
sivapd
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎08-12-2005
Message 2 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-21-2010 05:21 PM in reply to: kaiser6977

In Plant 3D, create a new Ortho drawing, View and select the models you need to include. Click on the cube and you can adjust the length, width and height of the cube to define what needs to be projected in the drawing. Everything outside the cube volume will be hidden.
Thanks, Siva (Autodesk)



Siva Thankappan
Technical Sales, Plant Solutions, Asia Pacific
Autodesk Singapore
Contributor
kaiser6977
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-27-2010
Message 3 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-21-2010 07:40 PM in reply to: kaiser6977
I understand that. What I want is to be able to cut out geometry in the 3D design mode. You know, like when you are routing pipe.

So let's say I am routeing a pipe from a pump to a tank. However, this routingis in the middle of the plant, so there is a lot of steel and equipment blocking my view while routing this pipe. What I want to do is keep everything turned on, so when I am routing the pipe I can see any potential clashes. However because this routing is in the middle of the plant, I can not see everything clearly.So I want to "hide" all the elements outside my routing "path" so I can more clearly see what is going on.

Is this possible.

And I will say again, in almost every other 3D software, this is possible, so if it is not in Plant 3D, Autodesk really needs to put this in.
Valued Contributor
andy.davis
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-10-2009
Message 4 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 01:51 AM in reply to: kaiser6977
Hi,

I'm not sure if this is what you uare looking for, but you can quite easily hide any element that is in your way or isolate only those elements you wish to see using the PLANTHIDE and PLANTISOLATE commands - available on the Visibility section of the tool ribbon and the RMB context menu option 'Part Hiding/Isolation'.

Andy
Contributor
kaiser6977
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-27-2010
Message 5 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 05:30 AM in reply to: kaiser6977
If anyone has worked in 3D before, especially in plant design, this concept should not be foreign. Almost every other package out there does what I am talking about.

I understand the hide and isolate features which are great when you want to left-click your project to death. In some case it would take hours to hide the elements you want in order to get the view necessary for design.

I know what will be said next, "You can use QSELECT and select the families you want to hide." Well, this defeats the purpose of what I am talking about. The idea is to see EVERYTHING in the area that you are routing the pipe, but only in the area of design. The rest of the plant is not necessary to see and in fact hinders design effeciency and accuracy while visible and in the way of the area of design.

I am attaching some views from Revit to illustrate what I am talking about
Employee
gulnacm
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 6 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 05:38 AM in reply to: kaiser6977
there are a few functions that exist with Autocad:
3DCLIP that will allow you to designate a front and back clip plane that visually cuts off sections of the model. This can be used in multiple view windows

XCLIP will alow you to designate a clip box for xref files. you can create a clip box per xref file

Mike G (Autodesk)


Michael Gulnac
Technical Specialist
Organization
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
kaiser6977
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-27-2010
Message 7 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 05:41 AM in reply to: kaiser6977
Sorry, the message prematurely posted...

If anyone has worked in 3D before, especially in plant design, this concept should not be foreign. Almost every other package out there does what I am talking about.

I understand the hide and isolate features which are great when you want to left-click your project to death. In some case it would take hours to hide the elements you want in order to get the view necessary for design.

I know what will be said next, "You can use QSELECT and select the families you want to hide." Well, this defeats the purpose of what I am talking about. The idea is to see EVERYTHING in the area that you are routing the pipe, but only in the area of design. The rest of the plant is not necessary to see and in fact hinders design effeciency and accuracy while visible and in the way of the area of design.

I am attaching some views from Revit to illustrate what I am talking about, this is meant to be only an demostration of the concept.

Finally....

Can someone please explain the purpose of the Section Plane in AutoCAD Plant 3D, because it does not section anything out, in fact it does not seem to work at all!

If you do not know what I am talking about, this can be found under the Modeling Tab >> Section >> Section Plane. Considering this is in the Modeling Tab, one would assume you could section your 3D model. I guess not.
Contributor
kaiser6977
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-27-2010
Message 8 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 05:49 AM in reply to: kaiser6977
Is there an equivalent to the XCLIP for the 3D Model as a whole? The 3DCLIP command is very lacking in visibility.
*Peter Quinn
Message 9 of 10 (1,093 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-22-2010 02:28 PM in reply to: kaiser6977
Kaiser,

Thanks for your comments. The Section plane functionality that you're
looking at is part of plain AutoCAD and was intended to work on solids.
Plant objects aren't solids, so the sectioning tools don't work on them.

Having said that, I agree the section plane feature is a valuable one and
should work on our objects. I'll put this on our enhancement list for a
future release.

Peter Quinn (Autodesk)


wrote in message news:6378047@discussion.autodesk.com...
Sorry, the message prematurely posted...

If anyone has worked in 3D before, especially in plant design, this concept
should not be foreign. Almost every other package out there does what I am
talking about.

I understand the hide and isolate features which are great when you want to
left-click your project to death. In some case it would take hours to hide
the elements you want in order to get the view necessary for design.

I know what will be said next, "You can use QSELECT and select the families
you want to hide." Well, this defeats the purpose of what I am talking
about. The idea is to see EVERYTHING in the area that you are routing the
pipe, but only in the area of design. The rest of the plant is not necessary
to see and in fact hinders design effeciency and accuracy while visible and
in the way of the area of design.

I am attaching some views from Revit to illustrate what I am talking about,
this is meant to be only an demostration of the concept.

Finally....

Can someone please explain the purpose of the Section Plane in AutoCAD Plant
3D, because it does not section anything out, in fact it does not seem to
work at all!

If you do not know what I am talking about, this can be found under the
Modeling Tab >> Section >> Section Plane. Considering this is in the
Modeling Tab, one would assume you could section your 3D model. I guess not.
Contributor
eski
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 10 of 10 (710 Views)

Re: Section Plane

04-03-2012 06:01 AM in reply to: kaiser6977

Has there been any advancement with this tool?  I would definitely like to see this work inside of Plant3D.  I am currently on Plant3D 2012 release and when i use the Section Plane nothing seems to happen.  When I turn on "Live Section" the model doesn't seem to section how one would think and only fittings and components disappear out of the model?

 

Can someone shed some light on why this functionality (having a 3D volume to cut out parts of the model while designing) has not yet been added?  I remember working with Bentley projects years ago and it was a basic command for designing.  I know about xclip and 3Dclip, but why can there just not be a "visible" box you can turn on and adjust with grips to essentially crop out parts of large models and focus in where you are working at the time.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community