AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 4 (493 Views)
Accepted Solution

Report Creator Problems

493 Views, 3 Replies
11-09-2012 05:15 PM

I am having issues with the report creator.

 

I have created a report with the report wizard, it is looking decient.

the issues is that I cannot find out how to add up the parts!

 

I open up a report created from the existing reports and there is

Sum([Quanity]) [MeasureUnit] infront of the PartSizeLongDesc field.

 

I cannot find out how to get this into the new report...

and google is comming up dry.

 

any ideas?

 

Thanks 

 

John.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 4 (470 Views)

Re: Report Creator Problems

11-10-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Looks at the 3D parts report that comes in by default.  Notice that they put the table cells in a group header. This allows the group function to total the rows that would have appeared in the detail section.  Also, they run a script to convert the  value length to feet and inches. 

 

Honestly, I recommend starting with the 3D parts as a template and then modifying it to meet your needs. 

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 3 of 4 (444 Views)

Re: Report Creator Problems

11-12-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

Dave,

 

I opened up the template generated template, then took a photo, since it seperates reducers properly!

then took your advice and went back to the <3d parts> and just compared them and modified it and it works

and looks much better now!  Thanks

 

Now I have to figure out how to change the pipe lengths to feet ( and meters for metric projects ) from inches/mm which it defaults to - I am worried that If I do some math in it, it will just modifiy ALL the sums from the fittings and equipment.

 

eg 3600 inchs of 3" pipe to 333.33 ft

     36 - 3" fittings to 3 3" fittings.

 

but when I have time I can do some trials  at least now things are working again.

 

John.

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 4 of 4 (442 Views)

Re: Report Creator Problems

11-12-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

The feet length calculations can be viewed in the 3D Parts template as well.  If you select the Sum cell, and look at its properties, there is a Scripts properties which they use to populate the value when the Summary Calculated event is triggered.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community