AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 1 of 8 (480 Views)

PlantConnectJoint HELP

480 Views, 7 Replies
11-17-2011 12:04 PM

I have routed a line in Plant 3D 2012 and had to make some changes. I ended up deleting a fitting and treid to re-connect a piece of pipe to the BV side of the adjacent flange.

 

Using PlantConnectJoint i get the error message "The ports must be adjacent in order to connect".

 

The parts are adjacent and if i erase the piece of pipe and run a new piece between the BV end of the flange i am trying to connect to and the next fitting downstream it works fine. while this technically solves the problem i want the command to work correctly and not have to re-route every time i have to change something.

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 523
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 2 of 8 (474 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

11-17-2011 02:37 PM in reply to: thebearjed

turn your units precision to .0000000 (all the way)

now do a distance query (keyboard DI)

snap to the nodes, you may find it to be out by say 0.00000024 or some other miniscule amount ( i think it may be a rounding issue with acad)

this tiny gap means the nodes are not adjacent.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Active Contributor
OmarGT
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-26-2011
Message 3 of 8 (471 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

11-17-2011 09:11 PM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

Hello; I have a similar problem when I erase a stub-end and then try to connect it again. It appears an error message. See attachment.

Mentor
thebearjed
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-05-2009
Message 4 of 8 (462 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

11-18-2011 05:51 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

i had already tried your suggestions, thanks though.

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 5 of 8 (411 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

12-13-2011 01:47 PM in reply to: thebearjed

I know the connections have been improved from Plant 3D 2011 to 2012.

 

For example even if you have a WN flange that is offset by quite a bit, it should still connect. 

 

Pipe_spool_offset.png

 

 

These are offset both horizontally and vertically:

Offset_WN.png

 

Offset_WN2.png

 

Offset_WN3.png

 

 

I haven't ran into any issues on re-connecting pipe after a fitting has been removed. Are the drawings you are working on created in Plant 3D 2012 or migrated from Plant 3D 2011?



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 6 of 8 (405 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

12-13-2011 03:32 PM in reply to: OmarGT

Omar,

 

I checked the screen capture you attached and what is happening there is when you erase a stub-end the lap flange is still left there, disconected. So if you try to run pipe back to it the connection won't be made because the node for the lap flange is in the way of the other stub-end. If you erase the loose lap flange and re-connect to the stub-end it should make the connection again:

 

Example on Screencast.com

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Active Contributor
OmarGT
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-26-2011
Message 7 of 8 (396 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

12-13-2011 09:15 PM in reply to: jason.drew

Jason, thank you for answering.

 

The problem comes when I have to connect an equipment to another without any piece of pipe; it means: Equipment1+lapjoint+reducer+lapjoint+valve+equipment2 We are not able to connect the second equipment to the flange; or the other way around, starting from the equipment 2 to 1.

 

Thanks in advance.

Active Contributor
M!chelle
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 8 of 8 (307 Views)

Re: PlantConnectJoint HELP

11-05-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: jason.drew

Drew my pipe in on a slope, I got a reducer attached to the sloped pipe.  How do I now attach the reducer to the straightened existing pipe?  It says the parts are not adjacent, but they are never going to be adjacent when you're connecting to a slope?

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community