AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Contributor
followsea
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
Message 1 of 9 (996 Views)

Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

996 Views, 8 Replies
12-18-2011 08:51 PM

Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

I use Plant Design Suite. I make steel structure in ASD, then xref it in Plant 3D. Problems is:

1.After Object Enabler installed, ASD models display  detailed(show all roundings etc). This reduce the progame performace seriously. No tools can control it in Plant 3D. Settings in ASD PREFERENCES doesn't affect it either.

2.With regard to ASD models, Osnap cann't work in Plant 3D like that in ASD. I cannot snap almost all contour vetex or midpoint. This makes assembling with other objects in Plant 3D so difficult. 

3. When generate Otho drawing of models including ASD models, the result is so bad.(So useless detailed lines).

Any ideas helpful? Thanks!

1.png2.png

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 9 (931 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

01-04-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: followsea

I will check with the development team on these issues and give you an update as soon as possible.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 9 (903 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

01-25-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: followsea

Hello,

 

The object enablers for AutoCAD Structural Detailing have recently been updated. Please download, install and let us know the results:

 

AutoCAD Structural Detailing 2012 Object Enablers (32-bit and 64-bit)

 

Thank you,

 



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Contributor
followsea
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
Message 4 of 9 (877 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

02-15-2012 07:21 PM in reply to: jason.drew

Only resolve the display(Detailing or without roudings, configured in ASD) when you directly open the ASD file in P3D. But when XREF it in P3D, it display detailing, regardless of the configuration.

All other problem  exist.

Another improving is good. P3D can XREF ASD formworks model now, while it always collapse before. But another problem arise: the axis number dissaper when xref it in P3D.

11.jpg

22.jpg

Thanks.

Member
kmayland
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-18-2012
Message 5 of 9 (857 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

02-18-2012 04:50 PM in reply to: followsea
may be the intelligent SDNF import interface for AutoCAD PLANT 3D is an opportunity for you? Get in contact with Unitec.de for further details.
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 6 of 9 (759 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

07-11-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: kmayland

The same issue we are facing now?

 

How Autodesk didn't answer this question for more than a year?

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 7 of 9 (752 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

07-12-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: followsea

Looking for prompt answer from Autodesk in this regard.

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 8 of 9 (562 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

02-06-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: followsea

One workaround that has been suggested to me is using "Save model to ACIS solids" from ASD:

 

Save_to_ACIS.png

 

This will save the ASD model to a .DWG which can be copied into Plant 3D and attached as an XREF. Object snaps will work and all connection detail (plates/bolts/etc.) will display in the model and on the orthographic views.

 

 

2013-02-06_1023.png

 

 

2013-02-06_1036.png



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Contributor
saravanan
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 9 of 9 (195 Views)

Re: Plant 3d and ASD cannot cooperate seamlessly?

02-18-2014 11:17 PM in reply to: followsea

Hi Jason Drew,

 

If we save this as ACIS Solid then the intelligent will loose, so is there a update or hotfix available now?

 

-Saravanan

Saravanan

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community