AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Grampster
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 1 of 7 (724 Views)
Accepted Solution

Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

724 Views, 6 Replies
04-22-2012 01:43 PM

What happened? I've used this several times, then I open a model and it's no longer working! I can't fine any help on-line or in Plant 3D help. I also try to connect a branch off a pump suction line to another pump suction, which I've done lots of times, but I keep getting a disconnect even though the nodes are perfectly aligned. When I try to connect them from the menu, I get an error message that says they aren't aligned. These worked before; why aren't they working now?

Sunetic Services
Owner/Consultant
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 7 (720 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

04-22-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: Grampster

If you do a DI (Distance) from one node to the other, are they definitely in the same plane?



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Grampster
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 3 of 7 (718 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

04-22-2012 03:57 PM in reply to: Grampster

Yes, XYZ  are identical. Also, if I try to auto-route, it routes the pipe to then node with no alternative routings and no connection. I'm bewildered.

Sunetic Services
Owner/Consultant
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 4 of 7 (716 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

04-22-2012 03:58 PM in reply to: Grampster

Can you post the model here please?

 

If not the whole model, that just that area/section?



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Grampster
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 5 of 7 (711 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

04-22-2012 05:19 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

This is a demo file I created for you showing examples of unconnected lines. the node of the elbow is identical with the node of the connecting pipe. The drawing also shows the result of trying to auto-route the 8' pipe on the rack with the 8" pipe below.

Sunetic Services
Owner/Consultant
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 6 of 7 (708 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

04-22-2012 05:27 PM in reply to: Grampster

I just removed the line (from the last flange of the valve, and up to the tee) and then re-ran it as an auto run line. Extended the line from the flange, to the node of the tee, as shown and works fine.

 

Under Elevation and Routing, on the Home Tab, I have "Offset Routing" on. Maybe check that? If its still an issue, does it work ok in a new blank project? We just have to work out if its the project, or possibly something else that might be causing the problem.

 

Refer attached pic.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
Grampster
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 7 of 7 (641 Views)

Re: Plant 3D Auto-Routing no longer working

05-02-2012 09:38 PM in reply to: Grampster

I'm sorry I didn't respond right away. Your suggestion pointed to the exact problem. One of the offsets had a value and it was throwing auto-routing off. As soon as I set it to zero, it worked perfectly. Thanks. It's burned into my memory now. LOL You've resolved my problem.

 

Apparently, I had been testing routing with offsets and forgot to reset the value to zero. Perhaps I assumed logging off and on reset it to default zero. Once set to a value it remains set until changed. Just one more thing to watch for.

Sunetic Services
Owner/Consultant

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community