AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MOLGRAND
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎03-06-2008
Message 1 of 12 (790 Views)

Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

790 Views, 11 Replies
01-06-2012 04:32 PM

Hi,

I have created a couple of supports with the pipe support.acat - no problems.

However how do you get these on to the pipe support palette within P3D - there must be a way of adding new ones from the .acat file.

Help would be appreciated

 

Thanks

Gary

 

 

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 12 (767 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-09-2012 06:12 AM in reply to: MOLGRAND

Hi Gary,

 

You can open the pipe support in the spec editor and change description, skey for Isometrics etc, but it is not possible to create a new one.

 

The ability to add custom supports in the catalog has been logged as a wish list item with out development team.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Valued Contributor
19820415
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 3 of 12 (707 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

02-27-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

But as i know,when we create support in Plant 3D,those parameters are not from SUPPORTS Catalog.acat.

i find a support just like pipe hanger in SUPPORTS Catalog.acat,we can see that these parameters are not the same as those when create in Plant3D.

And in SUPPORTS Catalog.acat,the description are not the same as those when create in plant 3D.

So where does these parameters come from?or where is the default value that we can modify? 

Active Contributor
scottscs71
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 4 of 12 (589 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-25-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: MOLGRAND

This has to be addressed.  I am working on Aux Steel Supports and now find out we cannot add them to the catalog.  What is the projection for this getting added?


_________________________
Scott Hallmark
Sr. Applications Specialist
APPLIED SOFTWARE www.asti.com
LIVE LAB LEARNING
Inventor 2013 Certified Professional ~ My Plant3D Notes
Psalms 143:8
Employee
PeterQuinn
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 5 of 12 (555 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-28-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: scottscs71

In 2013, look in the PipeSupportsSpec in your project. 



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
scottscs71
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 6 of 12 (548 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-28-2013 10:41 AM in reply to: PeterQuinn

I understand we can add them to the spec.  The problem I am having is adding my custom items to the catalog.  I have generated the Python scripts and registered them and the objects show up in my list in the catalog  when I choose "create new component" but error out when trying to add to the catalog.  I get this:  "Column 'SizeRecordId' is constrained to be unique. Value '' is already present."

 

I thought it might be my script but I get the same error when using an out-of-the-box parametric support in P3D.  It will not let me add to the catalog.  I am using 2013 SP1 G.114.0.0


_________________________
Scott Hallmark
Sr. Applications Specialist
APPLIED SOFTWARE www.asti.com
LIVE LAB LEARNING
Inventor 2013 Certified Professional ~ My Plant3D Notes
Psalms 143:8
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 12 (529 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-29-2013 05:30 AM in reply to: scottscs71

Once you define the script in the python file, you have to use the activate function to let Plant 3d know how to handle it.

The parameters D - WD are used by the script, I believe the rest of them are what is necessary to work with the catalog.

 

activate(CUSTOMSCRIPT,
"""
[Type AQA-CUSTOMSCRIPT]
VID=STRING,32
DN=STRING
D=LENGTH
RD=LENGTH
RL=LENGTH
RDI=LENGTH
RLI=LENGTH
RLIU=INT
RTYPE=INT
W=LENGTH
WD=LENGTH
Units=STRING,8
;
uniqId=CALC =$self.VID$ $self.DN$ $self.RTYPE$
;
@key=VID,DN

""",
"@VarDataDefault0",
)

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 428
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 8 of 12 (520 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-29-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: MOLGRAND

Request Autodesk to educate all the users about coding custom supports using python. 

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 9 of 12 (515 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-29-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

That's part of being an ADN member.  They have documentation available when you are an ADN member since this is development...not really a part of using the program.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Active Contributor
scottscs71
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 10 of 12 (502 Views)

Re: Pipe Support .acat & support palete help needed

01-29-2013 12:37 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

This is the top of my code:

 

from aqa.math import *
from varmain.primitiv import *
from varmain.var_basic import *
from varmain.custom import *

 

@activate(Group="Support", TooltipShort="AS-26", TooltipLong="AS-26 Aux Support", LengthUnit="in")
@group("MainDimensions")
@param(HWL=LENGTH, TooltipLong="Horizontal W-Shape Length")
@param(WSIZE=LENGTH, TooltipLong="Horizontal W-Shape Size")
@param(HWV=LENGTH, TooltipLong="Horizontal W-Shape Over-Hang")

 

def AS26W(s, WSIZE=4, HWL = 24.0, HWV=3.0, ID = 'AS26W', **kw ):

 

This is the bottom of my code:

 

activate(AS26W,

"""

[Type AQA-VAS26W]

VID=STRING,32

DN=STRING

WSIZE=LENGTH

HWL=LENGTH

HWV=LENGTH

Units=STRING,8

;

uniqId=CALC =$self.VID$ $self.DN$

;

@key=VID,DN

""",

"@VarDataDefault0",

)

 

As long as the bottom of my code is commented out (the "activate" portion), it works and generates the object.  If it is removed, I get this in my command prompt:

 

Command: (arxload "PnP3DAcpadapter.arx")
"PnP3DAcpadapter.arx"
Command: PLANTREGISTERCUSTOMSCRIPTS
Command: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 366, in dumpAll
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 323, in dumpAll
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 305, in dumpFile
  File "c:\autocad plant 3d 2013 content\cpak common\customscripts\AS26W.py", line 131, in <module>
    "@VarDataDefault0",
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 192, in __new__
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 210, in __call__
  File ".\variants\varmain\custom.py", line 67, in metadata
AttributeError: '_SCRIPT' object has no attribute 'func_metadata'


_________________________
Scott Hallmark
Sr. Applications Specialist
APPLIED SOFTWARE www.asti.com
LIVE LAB LEARNING
Inventor 2013 Certified Professional ~ My Plant3D Notes
Psalms 143:8

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community