AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
phwatso
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 1 of 11 (632 Views)
Accepted Solution

Orthographic Drawings

632 Views, 10 Replies
09-07-2012 03:10 AM

When we use PLANTEQUIPMENTCONVERT to create equipment from AutoCAD XREFs the equipment does not display in the Orthographic drawings created.

Employee
JarrodMudford
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 2 of 11 (601 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-08-2012 11:04 PM in reply to: phwatso

Hi,

 

You have to make the original file part of the project. Right mouse click on the folder in the project manager and select "Copy Drawing to Project". Then xref from there.

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Jarrod Mudford
Plant Solutions Consultant
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 3 of 11 (575 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 03:57 AM in reply to: JarrodMudford

Even after you make xref from the project file, the orthographic will not be displayed.

 

If you XREF, orthographic will not be generated even if it is in project file.

 

I find its a bug of the software, tried several times.

 

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 11 (570 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 04:37 AM in reply to: phwatso

Hi,

 

If I convert AutoCAD objects using PLANTEQUIPMENTCONVERT and then the drawing is xreffed into another drawing I can create an Ortho that included the Xref equipment.

 

I tested this in Plant 2013, is that the version that you are using?

 

Thanks,
Dan



Dan Scales
Valued Contributor
Jorgen1990
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 5 of 11 (569 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: phwatso

Is your file XREF-ed as an overlay or as an attachment? Overlays won't show on orthos, attachments will.

 

Jörgen

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 6 of 11 (566 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: Jorgen1990

Hi,

 

Yes, it looks like overlayed Xrefs are the issue. Attached Xrefs work fine.

 

I believe that this has logged with our developers already.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 7 of 11 (546 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 11:01 PM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Yes, attachment in overlay only causing problems.

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 8 of 11 (547 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-13-2012 11:05 PM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

Also, there is an issue in Orthographic. If i take the drawings from ASD, the ortho views are not proper. Already we logged this bug with development team. Hope it will be resoved in 2014 release. Because of this interfacing issue, we are not able to use the ASD and Revit.

Valued Contributor
phwatso
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 9 of 11 (510 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-18-2012 03:48 AM in reply to: phwatso

We Xref (attach) a part (grundfos pump model for example) into our piping model and then use plantequipmentconvert in the piping model to add nozzle information etc.

 

Which order/process should we be using to ensure they display in orthographic drawings?

 

Sorry for the delay in responding...

Valued Contributor
Jorgen1990
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 10 of 11 (459 Views)

Re: Orthographic Drawings

09-24-2012 02:09 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

DanScales wrote:

Hi,

 

Yes, it looks like overlayed Xrefs are the issue. Attached Xrefs work fine.

 

I believe that this has logged with our developers already.

 

Thanks,

Dan


Hi

 

By my understanding, it is not an issue or a problem. Overlays are not supposed to show on orthos. If you want to see xref-s on orthos, insert them as attachments. The idea of overlay is that you can see the xref while working in your file and use it as a guidance, but leave it out of orthos.

 

Cheers,

Jörgen

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community