AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Active Member
randy_trinity
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 1 of 7 (653 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ortho Creation is Blank

653 Views, 6 Replies
09-24-2013 01:09 PM

On one machine with 2014 Plant3d - Extension 1 when I go to create an ortho the viewport comes up blank. I have double, triple checked to made sure my model was in the boundary area. No luck. I have audited the project, compressed the database, project purged, repaired plant, shut-down, and restarted. I also repaired frameworks 4.5 as I was getting an error on the projects "ortho title block setup".

 

I have another machine with 2014 Plant3d (No Extension 1) - Creates the orthos like one would hope. But it has generic layers associated with it pipe, centerline, etc.. However when I go to change the setting to "use 3d model layers", it does not remember my settings nor will it allow me to set dim styles, or text styles.  

 

Anybody have an idear of what could possibly be going on?

Distinguished Contributor
EricNyh
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 2 of 7 (631 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

09-24-2013 06:44 PM in reply to: randy_trinity

Under the Orthos folder, check to make sure you don't have a DWG folder under another DWG folder.   There is a few posts on this.  There is something broken on the Autocad side for machines that are updated from earlier versions.

Valued Mentor
dennis
Posts: 702
Registered: ‎07-29-2005
Message 3 of 7 (604 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

09-25-2013 04:34 AM in reply to: randy_trinity

I have found that if I use NO template when creating a Project, then the Ortho/DWGs folder is ok to use for the storage point of Orthos.  But if I DO use a template, I have to put the storage point for orthos at the Ortho folder and not DWGs.  Once the Project is created, I can then change it to DWGs if I want.  It is a bug in the creation of the folders Style and Orthocube.  I suspect there is something "hardcoded" to look in a certain place.

Active Member
randy_trinity
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
Message 4 of 7 (592 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

09-25-2013 06:42 AM in reply to: dennis

Dennis - Thanks a million, I went back created a new project (not using a template) it worked just like it should!

Contributor
aldevos
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 5 of 7 (556 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

09-27-2013 06:25 AM in reply to: randy_trinity

Hello all,

 

It seems with have a similar problem with a project migrated from Plant 3D 2013. Orthographic drawings either doesn't work or works strangely.

 

I tried dennis proposition but it doesn't work here.

 

I opened a case at Autodesk Technical Support, here's the description :

 

Hello,


Before migrating our Plant 3D 2013 (SP2) project definitely to Plant 3D 2014 (ext 1), we are doing some migration tests.


We have problem with orthographic drawings after migration: impossible to have paper control (“Contrôle papier”), change scale or even view result of the ortho generation.


So what we did is open the Plant 3D 2013 project in Plant 3D 2014 to do the migration (no error reported) and then try to create new orthographic drawings : in that case, impossible to have paper control (“Contrôle papier”) or change scale (see attached file 1-migration ortho.png). Attached file 2-migration parameters.png gives the parameters of ortho. When creating project from scratch: everything is fine, see attached file 3-project from scratch ortho.png and 4-project from scratch parameters.png


Then we tried something else: create a new project in Plant 3D 2014 from template (template being the migrated project). In that case, impossible to view result of the ortho generation (see attached file 7-project from template migration ortho2.png). Scale control seems to work (see attached file 5-project from template migration ortho.png) Attached file 7-project from template migration ortho2.png gives the parameters of ortho. Some errors also pop up saying that we should report them to Autodesk: see attached file 7-project from template migration error.png.

There seems to be a problem with migration from 2013 to 2014. We cannot start a new project from scratch because we need all modified parameters from our Plant 3D 2013 project.


What do you suggest? We can send you files if necessary.


It is critical and urgent because we have many many problems with Plant 3D 2013 (SP2) ortho generation so we need to migrate to 2014.


Thank you

 

Hope Autodesk will have a quick solution, we have so much pain here with Plant 3D 2013 and ortho drawings ...

 

 

 

Regards,

Alexandre Devos

Valued Contributor
alvaro.nimasco
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 6 of 7 (456 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

10-09-2013 01:15 AM in reply to: aldevos

We have otho issues here too, with Ext1 we end up with that same message. The solution we found, so far, is to create a new project with no new settings or existings xml, just for ortho generation.

 

Should be a Service Pack by now

 

regards

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 321
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 7 of 7 (378 Views)

Re: Ortho Creation is Blank

10-15-2013 11:04 AM in reply to: alvaro.nimasco

Hello,

 

This issue has been identified and submitted to the product development team.

 

The workaround is removing the "DWGs" entry at the end of the ortho path string inside New Project Setup Wizard when creating a new project from existing.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community