AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-31-2008
Message 1 of 4 (189 Views)
Accepted Solution

Objects Compatability w/ Vanilla AutoCAD

189 Views, 3 Replies
04-28-2012 03:09 PM

Greetings All,

 

Currently our pipers are using Bentley for their work but there has always been an issue for us plain vanilla AutoCAD users.  The Bentley Object Enabler allows us to see the work but we cannot edit them (copy, move, delete, etc.) and always have to pass them back to a piper.

 

We are migrating over to Autoplant 3D in the near future however we're not buying a seat for everbody so the question I have is, are entities created by Autoplant 3D specific to it or can they be edited by someone who is using plain vanilla AutoCAD? Are Bentley Objects in current drawings editable with Autoplant 3D and/or is there some kind of a conversion process?

 

Thanks,

 

Keith

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 530
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 4 (185 Views)

Re: Objects Compatability w/ Vanilla AutoCAD

04-28-2012 04:48 PM in reply to: Volk359

AutoCAD users shouldn't be opening the models. You can install Object Enablers so they can see the elements, but ultimately, you can use the EXPORTTOAUTOCAD command on the models and dumb the models down to basic AutoCAD solids.

 

Plant3D still needs specs and a database to work, so no, AutoCAD users can't (and shouldn't) be editing Plant3D models.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
Message 3 of 4 (156 Views)

Re: Objects Compatability w/ Vanilla AutoCAD

05-01-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Tom is right.  You can open P3D models in ACAD even without installing the object enabler.  You will get proxy graphics and wont be able to see any meta data.  If you install the OE, you can see the meta data.  However, to edit the model, you will need P3D.

-
Pat Jenakanandhini
Product Manager
Plant Solutions - AEC
Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-31-2008
Message 4 of 4 (148 Views)

Re: Objects Compatability w/ Vanilla AutoCAD

05-01-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: Volk359

That gives me the heads up I needed, thanks much.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community