AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
eadkins73
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 1 of 4 (502 Views)

Object reference not set to an instance of an object

502 Views, 3 Replies
10-08-2013 02:44 PM

I got the failure "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" when running an iso (see attached).  I can't seem to figure out why it's doing that.  An ideas?

 

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 619
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 4 (493 Views)

Re: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

10-08-2013 08:36 PM in reply to: eadkins73

Are you generating ISO from PCF or from the model. Can you send us your model drawing for further testing and also let me know which release of Plant 3D you are working with.



Vinod Balasubramanian
New Member
madaspeed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 3 of 4 (422 Views)

Re: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

10-24-2013 09:26 PM in reply to: eadkins73

I am having the same issue, creating an ISO with Plant3D 2013.

 

Iso Creation start time : 25/10/2013 2:48:04 PM
Iso Creation finish time: 25/10/2013 2:48:10 PM
Duration                : 00:00:06
Output folder           : P:\237208\CADD\MODELLING\Isometric\Santos\ProdIsos\Drawings\Drawings
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Isometric(s) were not able to be created:
P:\237208\CADD\MODELLING\BIG LAKE CIEP\Isometric\Santos1\PCFs\350-RG-11598-006.pcf
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INFO    - Loading input: 'P:\237208\CADD\MODELLING\BIG LAKE CIEP\Isometric\Santos1\PCFs\350-RG-11598-006.pcf'
INFO    - Loaded '2' model(s).
INFO    - Processing: '350-RG-11598-006-1'.
INFO    - Model-based split has been done. The model has been split into 2 models.
FAILURE - Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Valued Contributor
eadkins73
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎02-08-2013
Message 4 of 4 (373 Views)

Re: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

11-07-2013 12:19 PM in reply to: eadkins73

Vinod,

 

The issue is caused by a Victaulic coupling (from the victaulic catalog on the autodesk website) on the branch of a tee.  Once I removed the vic (or moved it to the unassigned line number) the iso ran.

 

Also, somewhat related, I have an issue with the iso turing into an exploded view of the line because the weld dot is assigned to the connecing line and not to the line of the iso.  This is also at the branch of a BW tee.  Changeing which line the weld dot is assigned to "fixes" the iso.

 

See Attached...

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community