AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Contributor
berucheva
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 1 of 3 (269 Views)

New Catalog Properties

269 Views, 2 Replies
08-29-2012 01:11 AM

Hello!

 

My question:

Where is display new property from Catalog?  It is display neither in Spec not in Data Manager. How to use this new properties?

 

Details:

1. Start SpecsAndCatalogs Editor 2013 as admin.

2. Open Catalog

3. Menu Catalog --> Modify Catalog Properties

4. Add new property - NewProperty, DefaultValue = ert (see New_Prop.jpg)

5. Save Catalog

6. Go on the SpecEditor Tab

7. Open Spec

8. Open Family with new property in the Catalog. New property there is in the Size Range (see New_Prop1.jpg)

9. Add this Family in the Spec. New Property there is not in the Edit Parts (see New_Prop2.jpg).

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 2 of 3 (209 Views)

Re: New Catalog Properties

08-30-2012 12:52 AM in reply to: berucheva

You need to create properties with the same name and type in the spec and project. The program will transfer data through thes from catalog to project, but it will not create the proprties itself. This way you can create properties at catalog and spec level that help selecting objects, but don't need to be present in the drawing

---------------------
Peter Jansoone
Plant Design software consultant at Greenock CAD service
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-02-2012
Message 3 of 3 (163 Views)

Re: New Catalog Properties

09-02-2012 11:26 PM in reply to: peter.jansoone

Thanks for the reply! We have tryed to create a custom field on catalog level, spec level and project level. Information added in the custom field in catalog in Spec Editor is successfully transfered into project. The problem is that exporting the catalog or spec in Excel does not output that custom field. Could you please give us a guideline how to get the added custom field in Excel for the purpose of large data editing?

 

Another question is how to get the custom field by creating new catalog with Catalog Builder from Excel file with added custom field?

 

Thanks in advance!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community