AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Member
MadCadder_REC
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2009
Message 1 of 7 (881 Views)

Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

881 Views, 6 Replies
08-24-2012 02:15 PM

Has anyone else noticed this?

 

The "W" shape structural members under the CISC standard have incorrect dimensions.  The web thicknesses are greater than the flange thicknesses.  In fact the two dimensions have been swapped.  The AISC equivalent members are correct.  We need the ability to edit the structural catalog.  Can anyone help/advise?

 

TNT

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 7 (853 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

08-25-2012 05:49 PM in reply to: MadCadder_REC

Yep.  I use a database editor called SQLite Expert (there's a free version).

 

http://www.sqliteexpert.com/download.html  

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Contributor
patpat78
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 3 of 7 (529 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

hello dave do you have any information for editing structural members 

 

i install sqlite expert and open the structural database but after how can i creat a new shape standard? with new shape style and new material standart?

 

can u help me with this

 

thank's

Member
MadCadder_REC
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2009
Message 4 of 7 (523 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: patpat78

patpat78,

 

You may not have to do this.  I noticed a "AutoCAD Plant 3D 2013 Service Pack 1".

In the README file is states "Structural steel dimensions for some shapes were incorrect."

I have not had the chance to confirm if these were the shapes to be fixed.

 

Just thought you may want to apply this update before editing the database via sqllite.

 

TNT

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 7 (519 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: MadCadder_REC

Yes, I believe the service pack fixed the issue, but haven't had a chance to check it out.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Contributor
patpat78
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 6 of 7 (514 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

hello i see that in the sP1 

 

but it's not what i want 

 

i whant to  creat a new type of  shape standard with new shape style and new material standart

 

thank's 

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 7 (505 Views)

Re: Incorrect dimensions in CISC structural members.

12-06-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: patpat78

There is not documentation on how to do that at this time.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community