AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 1 of 9 (238 Views)

Inbuilt Clash check

238 Views, 8 Replies
02-14-2013 07:06 AM
Why inbuilt clash check program available in Plant 3d space?
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 9 (228 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-14-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

Navisworks is the tool for clash detection in the plant suites.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 3 of 9 (210 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-15-2013 12:22 AM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

or you use tools like this

 

AC Plant

 

cw

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 4 of 9 (193 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-15-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: cadwomen
I know Navisworks can do, I was wondering why not in plant space itself. while routing piping itself clash detection should show.

with regards to AC plant, do you have any sample video of demonstration?
Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 5 of 9 (176 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-17-2013 03:23 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

ask them , they understan english

 

cw

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
Active Contributor
rchiasson
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 6 of 9 (158 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-18-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: Arun_Kumar_K

You aren't going to have EVERY possible tool built into one software, no software is like that. As said before, there is a tool, Navisworks. It is included with the highest level of the Plant Suite. If there is a tool, there is no need to put effort into trying to incorporate it into Plant.

Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 7 of 9 (138 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-19-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: rchiasson

I fully agree that Navisworks is a good tool for clash check. But whenever, you want to check the detection, you have to go and check in the Navisworks.

 

When you need to work in larger projects, you need the parent software itself should show the clash detection.

 

Softwares like PDMS, SmartPlant3d, Cadmatic, and even Cadworx have inbuilt clash check detector.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 8 of 9 (134 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-19-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: rchiasson

Every tool thats included is one more load on the computer, larger download, more things to troubleshoot, more things for users to break (or ignore).  In this case, clash detection doesn't really need to be "live" on every station during the design process since the 3D design process gives a reasonable view of whats going on.  I've found that its best to batch them at regular scheduled intervals so they can be addressed by leads/supervisors during inter-discipline coordination meetings.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
Arun_Kumar_K
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
Message 9 of 9 (122 Views)

Re: Inbuilt Clash check

02-21-2013 07:20 AM in reply to: dgorsman
thanks for all your valuable suggestions

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community