AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 1 of 13 (462 Views)
Accepted Solution

IGS extension

462 Views, 12 Replies
01-31-2013 05:35 AM

good morning.
I have some equipment in IGS extension. I can not convert perfectly to Plant 3D solids.
as can be done properly to avoid mistakes?

thanks

--------------------------------

buenos dias.
tengo unos equipos en extension IGS. No consigo convertirlo perfectamente a solidos para plant 3d.
como se puede hacer de manera adecuada para no tener errores?

gracias

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 2 of 13 (423 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: joaquinr
Active Contributor
rchiasson
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 3 of 13 (426 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: joaquinr

Can what ever software you used to create the IGS file export to dwg? That would be your best option if you want to use something that has been built in another software.

Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 4 of 13 (422 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: rchiasson

Hi,

 

I Exported To DWG but now the Capacity of the File Became 19 MB how i can Uploading To you

 

 

 Regards,

 

 Ahmed Helal

 

Active Contributor
rchiasson
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 5 of 13 (418 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 05:36 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

This may also help.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=15500470

 

If you have the model in dwg format, you can convert it into equipment.

Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 6 of 13 (419 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: rchiasson

Hi Joaquin,

 

Do those steps to import the igs-file into your Plant3D-projekt:

 

  • Open your projekt and the drawing in which you want to add the igs-file
  • Use the command IMPORT. A browser will open. Change the data file type to IGES and browse for your igs-file
  • The import will be done in the background. When it is finished you will be notifiied by a bubble at the bottom right.
  • This bubble includes a link. Click on it and zoom to all. You see now the imported iges-file but it is still a couple of stupid surfaces.
  • Now use command PLANTEQUIPMENTCONVERT. It it is in the start ribbon, group 'equipment'.
  • A dialog box pops up where you can decide which kind of equipment you want to create (see snapshot)
  • After creating, select the new equipment and open the properties. As you can see in the second snapshot, your iges-file is now a specific equipment in your project.

Let me know, if this helps.

 

Regards

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Mentor
Ahmed1081975
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 7 of 13 (415 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: gersteb

 

this Valve Not Equipment, it mean he have to use   PLANTPARTCONVERT  insted PLANTEQUIPMENTCONVERT

 

Regards,

 

Ahmed Helal

Active Contributor
rchiasson
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 8 of 13 (410 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 06:27 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Yes, my mistake, you would use the PLANTPARTCONVERT to create the valve.

 

Though, I don't recomend this because of the size of the file. It is nice to use components that are already created, but the high level of detail that is usually in those sorts of models will severly affect the performance of Plant. If there is a way for you to shrink wrap it (similar to what Inventor does) out of what ever software it was created in to reduce the file size, that would be highly recommended if you are dead set on using the valve, or just use the valves in the software and adjust it for the appropriate length.

Product Support
gersteb
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎09-20-2010
Message 9 of 13 (409 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 06:31 AM in reply to: Ahmed1081975

Hi Ahmed,

 

You are right: this is a valve. Sorry for this misinformation.

 

So here are the steps for a valve:

 

  • Create a new drawing and save it.
  • Use the command IMPORT. A browser will open. Change the data file type to IGES and browse for your igs-file
  • The import will be done in the background. When it is finished you will be notifiied by a bubble at the bottom right.
  • This bubble includes a link. Click on it and zoom to all. You see now the imported iges-file but it is still a couple of stupid surfaces.
  • Create a block using command BLOCK
  • Use command PLANTPARTCONVERT. Add the two ports
  • Now open a catalog in your spec editor
  • Create a new component and select the option 'Custom - AutoCAD DWG Block based graphics'
  • Select valve in the category type.
  • Fill all the other fields
  • Select the model... This is your new block.
  • Save the new component to the catalog.
  • Add this component to one of your project specs.
  • Now you can add this via spec viewer in your project

Please, let me know if this helps.

 

Regards

Bernd



Bernd Gerstenberger
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 10 of 13 (404 Views)

Re: IGS extension

02-04-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: rchiasson
Dear Sir, We have installed the 2013 version of AutoCad, that is why we have no permission to install the "Subscription Advantage Pack for AutoCAD 2011 Products ". What we have to do to make possible to read the IGS extension in this case? Best regards, Benito Joaquin Rubio Fernandez-Cienfuegos aqualia infraestructuras Delineante/ Dpto. Delineacion Calle Federico Salm?n, 13 - 28016- Madrid Tel. +(34) 91 417 95 10 111111111> - Fax +(34) 91 417 95 08 333333333> www.aqualia-infraestructuras.comwww.aqualia.eswww.fcc.es333333333>111111111>

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community