AutoCAD Plant 3D General DIscussion

Reply
Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 1 of 6 (278 Views)

Export catalog with unique id

278 Views, 5 Replies
10-08-2012 05:41 AM

 

 

I would like to export a catalog (pcat) to Excel with a unique identifier field as one of the columns. Is there any way to achieve this using Spec Editor on Catalog Builder?

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 6 (276 Views)

Re: Export catalog with unique id

10-08-2012 05:47 AM in reply to: tmccar

The default unique Identifier is the PnPID column which is exported.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 3 of 6 (269 Views)

Re: Export catalog with unique id

10-08-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

It's not unique unfortunately - you can have a part from "Supplier X" and apart from "Supplier Y" with the same PNPid. I would like to be able to distinguish between them.

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 4 of 6 (266 Views)

Re: Export catalog with unique id

10-08-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: tmccar

Actually, it is unique for the catalog.  If you have the same PnPID in a spreadsheet in excel, I suspect the last entry will overwrite the first one.  The PnPID is used by the program to know which database row should get updated.

Spoiler
 
Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Mentor
tmccar
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
Message 5 of 6 (203 Views)

Re: Export catalog with unique id

10-15-2012 03:14 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

I would like to have a unique id across all catalogs - what is the best way to achieve this? (I would like to leave the catalogs intact if I can).

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 6 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: Export catalog with unique id

10-15-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: tmccar

You can do an export to Excel and then use the Item Code (Part Number) field.  You'll have to fill it in manually for every item (unless you want to use some sort of calculated field).

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community