AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 8 (463 Views)
Accepted Solution

ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

463 Views, 7 Replies
09-19-2012 12:34 PM

trying to create a parametric catalog for PVCu ( that is useable )

 

created the parts

cap / reduction tee / flange / pipe / concentric reducer / coupling / 90 ell / 45 ell / tee / flush bushing ( issues )

 

After this is all done, entering in all the values in excel.  I build the catalog... then spec editor uses *funny* math and decidecs to change most of the work I just did. *edit yes in excel the size is mm not inch*

 

eg 16mm pipe is now 400 inch pipe.

25mm pipe is 25 inch pipe

140mm pipe is 140 inch pipe

160mm pipe is 4000 inch pipe. etc etc.

 

While I have Edit catalog in imperial the numbers show up properly ( with only a few with mm tagged properly )

I change it to edit catalog in metric - then most of the numbers get all wanked up. ( not all )

 

serously wtf?

 

also when I exported the catalog into excel ( pre tuning it ) some of the values are in mm some are not.

 

So I went through each and every size and added mm after it.... when it was rebuilt it dropped most of the mm and swap them to inches. - which of course did NOTHING. - spec editor just decided again to change everything.

 

any way to fix this bug? or do I have to waste more hours RE-EDITING the entire catalog.  - on top of everything, I had all the fittings modeled up and converted.... but spec editor decided it did not want to find the parts - even though everything was linked properly in the correct directories... almost two days wasted so far..

 

Also I am having major issues trying to parametric model a flush bushing.  Anyone have success in this?

it always falls down to cannot create it with the geometry selected.

 

John.

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 2 of 8 (458 Views)

Re: Issues with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-19-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Update....

 

In the spec editor, I update the all the pipe sizes to the correct size,

 

when I save to catalog, spec editor decides to change them - just a couple mind you.

 

16mm pipe becomes 400 mm pipe

160mm pipe becomes 4000 mm pipe.

 

the Nominal diameter changes on both.

 

and of course, on a few of the pipes they show up all messed up aswell.... 20 ( 0.75mm ) - it's bloody 20mm pipe.. not 0.75

 

5 of 18 pipe sizes show up like that.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 3 of 8 (439 Views)

Re: Issues with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-19-2012 05:48 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

That seems odd, it looks like a Imperial to Metric conversion that its doing.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 4 of 8 (435 Views)

Re: ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-19-2012 06:47 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

I can email the catalog / spec / excel sheet - to see if there are any errors?

 

John

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Contributor
berucheva
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
Message 5 of 8 (420 Views)

Re: ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-20-2012 12:54 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Hi JohnHolder!

 

I have the same problem ((

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 6 of 8 (380 Views)

Re: ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-21-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

This still needs to be addressed.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 7 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-24-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Opening a ticket.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 8 of 8 (337 Views)

Re: ERROR with Catalog builder - METRIC.....

09-26-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Resolved.

 

Had to delete my excel sheet,

rebuild from the pipe spec ( not catalog )

once again edited all "In" / "Inch" to "mm"

 

rebuilt catalog from excel

repopulated spec from catalog

 

it worked this time.

 

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community