AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
New Member
paulroofener5374
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,509 Views)

Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

1509 Views, 6 Replies
09-13-2010 04:46 PM

Block worked fine when tested in the block editor, but the dynamic functionality does not work once added to the palette. Any thoughts?

Paul

md
Active Member
md
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2010
Message 2 of 7 (1,405 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

12-21-2010 07:57 AM in reply to: paulroofener5374

No help, but I am experiencing the same thing. I made a new block for a mixproof valve and I want the nozzles to flip when inserted into an P&ID Drawing. I have added the flip parameter and applied an flip action to it. When I tested it in de the "Test Block" environment it all worked fine. And also when I choose the Insert block command it works fine. But when I add it to a Class and put it on my Toolpalette, then add it to my drawing. When I click on it, it doesn't show the arrow that allows me to flip the block objects.

 

Can anyone help? I might use a workaround for this but it should work this way somehow.

 

Regards, Mark

Employee
PeterQuinn
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 3 of 7 (1,405 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

12-21-2010 09:46 AM in reply to: md

P&ID symbols are similar to dynamic blocks but they are not dynamic blocks. I am pretty sure you can get these actions on P&ID symbols, but I don't know how to do it. I'll see if I can get someone who does to post some more information.



Peter Quinn
Senior Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
lopezjo
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 4 of 7 (1,401 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

12-21-2010 10:02 AM in reply to: PeterQuinn

Asset custom entities may use dynamic block definitions but actions are not bubbled out through the custom entity grips. We internally evaluate the dynamic blocks to use the produced reference as the visual definition of the asset. The primary function of the evaluation is to convert the attribute definitions from a tag format string to the actual value using project data. Dynamic block actions that react to the changed attribute definition value evaluated internally.

 

If you are looking to have assets with dynamic block grips, it isn't possible. However, actions defined inside the block definition are evaluated but a means to edit the values they are dependent on through the asset instance is not possible.

 

 



Jorge Lopez
Software Architect
Autodesk Plant Solutions
Autodesk, Inc.

md
Active Member
md
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-21-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,375 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

12-23-2010 02:15 AM in reply to: paulroofener5374

So there is no solution to my problem? I do think it would be something to consider to implement in the future, it would make the use of AutoCAD P&ID more interesting. It is strange it is not possible though, especially because both functionalities are available and it would be just a matter to combine them. Wil it be available in the 2011 or 2012 version?

 

Regards, Mark

Active Contributor
rchiasson
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 6 of 7 (1,231 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

01-27-2011 06:39 AM in reply to: md

md, I am curious how you created your mixproof valve. I am trying to create one for P&ID, but it seems that the line breaking only occurs through the center of the valve and only attaches to one line. Are you able to insert the valve and have it break two separate lines? The only work around I have found is creating the valve with 2 ports at EndCodes 0 and 180 that are offset from the center line, and then running the pipe to the ports on the valve and linking the segments, though it makes the connection to the pipe, it screws up the To/From fields on the line.

 

 

Valued Contributor
phil.cooper
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 7 of 7 (616 Views)

Re: Custom P&ID dynamic blocks not working once added to palette

11-30-2012 12:55 AM in reply to: paulroofener5374

any update on this would be great as i am having the same problems

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community