AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
JRPalmer
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-10-2011
Message 1 of 10 (714 Views)

Creating Pipe Saddles

714 Views, 9 Replies
11-29-2011 11:39 AM

I was trying to create a pipe saddle for fibreglass piping. I thought the easiest way was to modify an olet so that one end is BELL and the other is something. I was going to chance it to BELL but that did not seem right.

 

What should my end types be so that it connects to the pipe.

 

Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 2 of 10 (704 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

11-29-2011 02:15 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

Whatever you want it to be in the Project Configuration. Add your end types in the Joint Settings dialog box.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 10 (624 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

12-20-2011 02:33 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

The BELL endtype is intended for bell and spigot connections so the connection/joint rules in Plant 3D wouldn't make the connection properly.

 

Is this part for a pipe saddle, as in a support? Or something similar to a reinforcing saddle?

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Contributor
FishrOfGrizz
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 4 of 10 (431 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

11-06-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: jason.drew
So was the author of this thread correct in using an Olet to create saddle? The saddle that I'm interested in would a saddle to provide a tap in a pipe.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 5 of 10 (403 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

11-07-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: FishrOfGrizz

I mainly use PVC, and I ended up just using olets for my pipe saddles.  They seem to work ok.

 

Though I do not get the red 'connection'  line through them, nor a point showing a connection.

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Contributor
FishrOfGrizz
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 6 of 10 (306 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

12-16-2013 08:26 AM in reply to: JohnHolder
Thanks John, could I get you to elaborate a little on the process you use to make this happen? And with your method, does it represent as a saddle would look? In this case, it would look like a half section of pipe glued onto the OD of a pipe where I'd end up having an instrument tap.


Thanks
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 7 of 10 (301 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

12-16-2013 08:42 AM in reply to: FishrOfGrizz

Been a while since I looked at how it was made.  

I thought I used TAP for the connection to the larger pipe, but it seems I used "Undefined_ET" for the connection to the larger pipe(Port 1(S1)) and "PSW" as the outlet to the smaller pipe(Port 2 (S2).  I am thinking now the Larger pipe connection should be "TAP"

 

All and all, the long desc. shows up properly in the BOM so for me it works.  but still bothers me that there is no red 'connection' line when the pipe line is highlighted.

 

I will modify the fitting to TAP and see what happens for a different project.

 

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Contributor
FishrOfGrizz
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 8 of 10 (296 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

12-16-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: JohnHolder
Thanks John, I appreciate it.

Things like this should already exist as this is a normal attachment in
real life. Just saying.






Bryan
Bordelon .. Houston, Tx . . (main) 281-920-9559 . . . . (fax)
281-920-3559 . . (email) bryanb@ecl-eng.com
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 451
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 9 of 10 (293 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

12-16-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: FishrOfGrizz

Also found out that for Sch 40 - Flush bushings break ISO drawings ( if they are correctly modeled ) since they involve negative length start points. 

 

Flush bushings insert to a socket, and the smaller pipe starts inside the flush bushing being a negative length in regards to the socket.  They are having a look at this though.

 

It seems that PVC and HDPE pipe specs are largely not noticed.  I have had to make my sch 40 / pvcu and hdpe pipe specs largely from scratch.

George Fisher and Spears have very very limited specs avaliable, but they omit over half of their actual catalog.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Active Contributor
btrevena
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 10 of 10 (107 Views)

Re: Creating Pipe Saddles

04-15-2014 08:49 PM in reply to: JRPalmer

Hi,

 

This has been on my list of ToDo things for a while.

We have Clamp-On Victaulic branch connections (Reinforcment Saddles in PE) that behave like an Olet.

Victaulic, PVC and PE Catalogues.

See video link demonstrating placement in 3D model.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bifudfTfbO0

 

Bruce

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community