AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 10 (335 Views)
Accepted Solution

Crashes.

335 Views, 9 Replies
04-04-2013 04:39 PM

I am getting entirely fed up with crashes. 

 

I have had 8 crashes today just making orthos and the last crash rendered the ENTIRE project useless. I had to retrieve yesterdays archived backup and start redoing all the work I did today.  and seeing how much of the drawing has changed between the archive backup and now is suprizing.  This costs us money.

 

The project already has a tight deadline, and now I am a day delayed.

 

Honestly how often should I make a full copy of the entire project?  every 10 minutes?  every hour?  I thought a fully backup every day should be enough.

 

Even now I cannot install the AutoCAD Pland 3D Service Pack 1 - English ( 64 bit ) SP because it crashes my system.

 

considering how much is spent each year on a sub. and the initial cost.  The boss is considering tossing everything and going with a more stable product.  I would like to stay with Autocad since it is what I know and I enjoy using it.

 

The community forum is great, and I have always had GREAT service form the support staff, but today has been difficult.

 

For a time I was cataloging all my crashes and the majority are ORTHO related.  I wish I could install the service pack in the hope that it would fix this problem... but since P3D 2014 will shortly be released, I am hoping the issues have been resolved in the next version.

 

John.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 639
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 10 (333 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-04-2013 04:45 PM in reply to: JohnHolder
How many people on the project, how large are the files. What is crashing your system with the service pack?
Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 3 of 10 (330 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-04-2013 04:53 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Plant-3D/AutoCAD-2013-Service-Pack-1-1-64-bit/td-p/3726284/hig...

 

previous thread on the service pack. - unresloved. ( at one point I thought I had it fixed )

 

recient project lost and that had to be recovered is only 250mb.

other projects which a smiliar issue with losing the project was 1.29 gb and 352 mb

this is not the only incident.

 

I am the only person working on it.

 

Some files that have all the system x-ref'd into them open once then crash and some others crash when an ORTHO is attempted.  I have to use Revit structure do to drawings of all the sub-systems.  ( on the two larger sized projects there are 5 sub-systems in the building )

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 530
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 4 of 10 (314 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-04-2013 05:30 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Another thing to try would be to see if another user on your PC gets the same issue. If there are settings/files in your Windows Profile that are corrupted, trying another user would be a way to suss that out.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 5 of 10 (307 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-04-2013 06:20 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

this has been an issue before and after clean uninstalls/installs of P3D aswell as before and after a full format of the computer and a complete reinstall of windows 7

 

I will try creating another user account and give it a go.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 6 of 10 (269 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-05-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Created a new profile, installed the service pack and so far it is stable - only been running 20 minutes.  lets see if it holds.  *fingers crossed*

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
ybogdanov
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Message 7 of 10 (255 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-07-2013 11:11 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Dont' worry. All is solved. It's necessary to detect where is the problem. Because I work in big projects and don't experimented problems in orthos. 

 I think that you have any block or solids, which are crete this problem, or your PC, or operative system. There are many factors which can be affect any software work.

 How many oparative mamory do you have? Which is PC do you use? Your project have any mesh element? It's posible to detect in which drawing do you have problem generated ortho view one to one, and search which has bug. 

Regards

-----------------------------------------------------------
Yury Bogdanov
ASIDEK(Grupo CT) - Partner Directo de Autodesk
Barcelona (Spain)
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 8 of 10 (248 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-07-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: ybogdanov

it MAY be solved.  I need a couple more days to test out the new profile to see if that did in fact fix it.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 435
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 9 of 10 (217 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-08-2013 03:45 PM in reply to: TomislavGolubovic

Almost 2 days no crashes with the service pack installed with a new user profile.

 

not sure what that worked when clean unstinalls and a format of windows did not.  I am not complaining because it worked. 

 

thanks.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Employee
TomislavGolubovic
Posts: 530
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 10 of 10 (211 Views)

Re: Crashes.

04-08-2013 04:55 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Good to hear.



Tomislav Golubovic
Plant Solutions Engineer
Autodesk Australia / New Zealand
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community