AutoCAD Plant 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 1 of 8 (526 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

526 Views, 7 Replies
08-01-2012 10:09 AM

Anyone help direct me in adding a custom field in the <equipment> class settings?

 

inside <Plant 3D Class Definitions> inside <Piping and Equipment>

 

I wanted to add a few catagories for Aquaculture and the specific equipment that I use,

so I can have specific fields show up in the equipment reports.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 8 (524 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

08-01-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

Select the Equipment class and at the far right you should see an Add button.  You can pick your property type in the following dialog.  If you choose selection list, you can create a new selection list in the next dialog.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 3 of 8 (521 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

08-01-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

That is just adding a <property>

 

I want to add <JLH Equipment> along side <filter> <furnace> <Global Equipment> etc

 

I use <Filter> < Tank> <Pump> and mostly <Misc Equipment> - but they are quite broad I want to add my own equipment catagory and for the specialized equipment then add my own properties.

 

John.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 4 of 8 (478 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

08-02-2012 10:08 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

There's no UI for this. Probably you can try editing the database to add a new class, but i'm not sure what is the repercussion. 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Valued Contributor
andy.davis
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-10-2009
Message 5 of 8 (430 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

08-07-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: JohnHolder

Hi,

 

Although there is no UI to add new classes, it is really quite straightforward to add a new class directly to the database.

 

I have already documented the procedure here: http://www.cadlinecommunity.co.uk/WhitePapers/WhitePaper.aspx?ScoId=3663d1b1-7c60-4796-9e59-2c34f34c...

 

Please feel free to download a ccopy.

 

Regards,

Andy

Valued Mentor
JohnHolder
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
Message 6 of 8 (429 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

08-07-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: andy.davis

Thanks!  I will go over this.

An education isn't how much you have committed to memory, or even how much you know. It's being able to differentiate between what you know and what you don't.
-------------------------------------
"Do or do not... there is no try"
Master Yoda.
Contributor
jhamilton
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 7 of 8 (234 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

05-01-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: JohnHolder

This proceedure works, but it is for SQL Lite.  What about SQL Express?

Contributor
aldevos
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 8 of 8 (188 Views)

Re: Adding Custom "Piing and Equipment" class

05-30-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: andy.davis

Hi Andy,

 

As asked on the post below, what about the procedure for a project running on SQL Server ?

I tried to adapt your procedure but with no success.

 

Thank you in advance,

Alexandre Devos

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Plant 3D Category!

The AutoCAD Plant 3D forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community