AutoCAD P&ID General

Reply
New Member
svbiker
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
Message 1 of 5 (440 Views)

create dynamic stretching in a block for two lines

440 Views, 4 Replies
10-19-2011 12:07 AM

Hello,

 

I have a block with two lines:

 

#(PipeLines.To)

#(Drawing.General.Pnid)

 

The lines are written one below the other one  and there is a frame around the two lines.

 

I want to realise a dynamic stretching of the frame depending on the longer line of the two.

At the moment I can only realise the stretching depending on one line

 

THX  for help

 

SVBIKER

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 2 of 5 (353 Views)

Re: create dynamic stretching in a block for two lines

12-19-2011 02:17 PM in reply to: svbiker

SV Biker,

 

I'm currently checking into this and will give you an update in a few days.

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 5 (348 Views)

Re: create dynamic stretching in a block for two lines

12-20-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: svbiker

SV Biker,

 

I have found a solution for this. It requires the use of "chained parameters" 

 

Chain dynamic blocks (AutoCAD 2006 and later)

 

Following the directions from the blog write-up:

 

  1. Create the block and open it in the Block Editor.
  2. Decide on the parameters you’ll need and their actions.
  3. Decide which action you’ll grip-edit in the drawing. This is the primary action that will activate the other, secondary, action. (in this case grips are not used and can be turned off)
  4. Create both parameters first, before creating any actions.
  5. Create the primary action and attach it to its parameter (the primary parameter).
  6. When you specify the objects for the primary action, include the parameter of the secondary action. This is very important. But don’t include the objects that will be in the selection set of the secondary action.
  7. Create the secondary action, attach it to its parameter, and select its objects.
  8. Select the secondary parameter, open the Properties palette, and set its chaining property to Yes.

 

 

PnID_Chained_Parameters.png

 

Example.png

 

______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.


Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Active Contributor
andreas.hammer
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 4 of 5 (214 Views)

Re: create dynamic stretching in a block for two lines

12-20-2013 04:15 AM in reply to: jason.drew

Hello, I'm trying to do the same, only I have just one line and don't need to use chain set. Could you elaborate? I can't get it to work. I've noticed that I don't get the blue cross in the middle which I think it's what ties the parameter with the line? Any help with be much appreciated.

See attachment.

BR
Andreas.

Capture.PNG

Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 5 of 5 (135 Views)

Re: create dynamic stretching in a block for two lines

01-08-2014 12:34 PM in reply to: andreas.hammer

Use the same method as Jason Drew described above. Only do it for one line of text.

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community