AutoCAD P&ID General

Contributor
AarTomas
Message 1 of 4 (718 Views)
Accepted Solution

Random Line break problem

718 Views, 3 Replies
06-14-2013 01:32 PM

Hello! We are deep in a project and this is the maiden voyage of our new "template" method with P3d. Essentially we made a template file that is generic enough so we can copy it and modify it for particular projects. However, we have been having lots of trouble with strange errors.

The most recent one being that the P&ID lines in the drawings in a particular area of our plant have been randomly breaking and losing connectivity. I've been told that the problem occurred when our draftsman first "Refreshed" the drawing he was working on.
refresh.png

Since then, 2 drawings in this area has had the majority of their lines broken up and their properties hidden. I ran an "AUDIT" command to fix the properties problem but there still is the problem shown in "Line-split-1".

Our draftsman (whom I have no knowledge of his work procedure) has told me that he tried replacing all these lines 3 times, and every single time they broke up.

To show off the strange-ness, take a look at "Line-split-2" to see that the old lines cannot take any new valves and when they are dragged off the line, they cut the line.

SO, I'm mainly wondering if there is somehow an easy fix for this, if not, then what can we do to fix it so it doesn't do it again. Is the drawing file corrupted? Is the whole project corrupted? I'm wondering what's the best way to backtrack.

Thanks for any responses!

P.S. As of this morning a 3rd drawing has been "infected" with this same problem. I have no clue.

P.P.S. This is on Autocad P3D 2013 by-the-way

Mentor
craig.wood
Message 2 of 4 (697 Views)

Re: Random Line break problem

06-17-2013 07:39 AM in reply to: AarTomas

AarTomas,

From my experience, this problem is due to two possible causes: