AutoCAD P&ID General

Reply
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 1 of 14 (606 Views)
Accepted Solution

No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

606 Views, 13 Replies
06-14-2012 08:54 AM

I tried to place two strainers - both with unique tags, but the program allowed the duplicate and gave no error. I don't know if I just recently noticed this, but it appears that there is no way to set a working tag within the piping specialty items class, is this correct? Can someone please confirm this? If so, I need to move those items to the hand valves class apparently...

 

Thanks,

Craig

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 2 of 14 (597 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

06-14-2012 06:59 PM in reply to: craig.wood

Great finding, never noticed it till now. I think the problem lies in the data in this table "PnPTagEnlistedColumns". Only Equipment, Nozzles, HandValves, Instrumentation, and PipeLineGroup will have unique tag.

 

Adding it through api is a lot easier than adding it directly using database. I will write a quick addin in the weekend and post here if anyone dont want to mess with the database.

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 3 of 14 (444 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

12-11-2013 09:23 AM in reply to: Rave.Tam

Hey Rave,

 

I guess I never followed up with you on this one. I mentioned this issue to Autodesk, but I guess it never got any traction as it is still a problem even in P3D 2014 Ext 2. You wouldn't happen to already have created a utility for this would you? :smileyhappy: (Hey, it's another blog post idea! :smileywink:)

 

Thanks,

Craig

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 4 of 14 (434 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

12-12-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: craig.wood
if i still remember, i tried this using built in API but there's no such function available to run sql command. I'll look into it but in the mean time, i'll post how to do this manually using sql command (great suggestion!)
If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 5 of 14 (332 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-08-2014 12:40 PM in reply to: Rave.Tam

Can you clarify exactly what it is you are trying to do? I may be able to show you how it's done without programming. I need you to be very specific. Thanks

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 6 of 14 (327 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-08-2014 01:57 PM in reply to: KenFauver

Hey Ken,

 

Within the 'Inline Assets' parent class, it appears that the 'Hand Valves' class is the only one in which a tag format checks against the database to ensure a unique tag (and notifies you of an asset with the same unique tag, and masks it with a "?" suffix if the same tag is ultimately used). Specifically, what I'm looking for is a solution that gives the 'Piping Specialty Items' class that same functionality as the 'Hand Valves' class. We use unique tags for things like strainers and traps, and would want to prevent duplicate tags from occurring on these items just as we would with our hand valves. Currently, the 'Piping Specialty Items' class does not run a check against the database, and allows duplicate tags.

 

Let me know if you would like a more specific example or video demonstrating this and I can provide it.

 

Thanks for the follow up!

Craig

Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 7 of 14 (321 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-08-2014 03:32 PM in reply to: craig.wood

There is some additional configuration needed in order to get this to work. Review the attached video.

 

SpecialtyItemTags.zip

 

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 8 of 14 (312 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-08-2014 04:05 PM in reply to: KenFauver

Ken,

 

Thanks for taking the time to put the video together and test this out on my behalf. The problem with using that method however, is that it does not truly prevent duplicate tags, but only increments the tag sequence number each time that asset is placed. We often have several folks in the program at any given time who would be placing these, along with copying and re-tagging items, which would require us to scrub the tags periodically because we couldn't trust the data. The auto-increment feature isn't robust enough for our needs, but might work on a smaller scale project. Ideally, the specialty items class would function just like the hand valves class, which has proven to be robust enough to cover our needs. To achieve this, in the past I placed all of my specialty items in a custom parent class under the 'hand valves' class, which gave them the unique tag functionality that I needed since it treated them as valves, but it confuses the class structure as they are then in and odd place. This appears to be an issue that could very easily be remedied in the hard code. If you could use your influence to place this item on the weekly meeting whiteboard with the development team, I would greatly appreciate it!

 

Thanks again!

Craig

Employee
KenFauver
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
Message 9 of 14 (308 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-08-2014 04:16 PM in reply to: craig.wood

Ah! Got it.

 

 

If the post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!


Regards,

Kenneth G. Fauver
Technical Sales Specialist – Plant
Oil and Gas Solutions
*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 10 of 14 (299 Views)

Re: No Working Tag in Piping Specialty Items?

01-09-2014 04:21 AM in reply to: craig.wood
Have you try manually adding it to the database? You only need to add a new row to both PnPBase table and PnPTagEnlistedColumns.
If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community