AutoCAD P&ID General

Reply
Contributor
jonasroslund
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 1 of 7 (582 Views)

Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

582 Views, 6 Replies
09-14-2012 02:03 AM

When inserting instruments, you can use the L option to attach a leader, allowing the instrument to inherit properties from the pipeline. However, once attached, the point where the leader connects to the pipeline cannot be stretched or moved like other lines can. The instrument stretches, but the point where the leader connects to the pipeline sticks. The only way to move the connection point is to cut out the pipeline, move the pipeline and instrument to the new location and reattach the pipeline to the upstream and downstream pipelines. This cannot be the way it is intended to work.

 

We've had this problem for years, and I wonder if anyone has found a better work-around.

 

Please note, this applies to the "built-in" instrument leaders you can insert when the instrument is inserted. It does not apply to leaders inserted manually after the instrument.

 

Regards,

Jonas

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 7 (532 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-21-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: jonasroslund

Hi,

 

This behavior is considered "as designed".

 

With regard to the workaround, if you need to move the instrument and its leader it may be a faster workflow to delete the existing instrument and re-insert it rather than breaking and relocating the section of pipe.

 

Thanks,
Dan



Dan Scales
Contributor
jonasroslund
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 3 of 7 (512 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-23-2012 11:39 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Hi,

 

If it is "as designed", how come ordinary leaders inserted later are not "stuck" the same way? Are the two really supposed to differ in response?

 

I would say that a "stuck" leader should be considered as a software design error. What is the purpose of it being "stuck"?

 

To delete an instrument having lots of data and reinsert it (and reenter the data) is a very time consuming work-around.

 

Regards,

Jonas

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 7 (479 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-28-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: jonasroslund

Hi,

 

I understand your reasons for wanting to be able to edit the leader line location on the sline and will log a wish with our developers for this functionality.

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Contributor
jonasroslund
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 5 of 7 (476 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-28-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Thank you, Dan.

 

Do you have a public wishlist where people can vote for different features and bugfixes?

 

Regards,

Jonas

Product Support
Dan.Scales
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 6 of 7 (471 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-28-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: jonasroslund

Hi,

 

Yes, you can log them here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

Also, the forum post can be used:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-P-ID/User-Wish-List-Items-P-ID/td-p/2627946

 

Thanks,

Dan



Dan Scales
Contributor
jonasroslund
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Message 7 of 7 (467 Views)

Re: Leaders to instruments are stuck, cannot be moved

09-28-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: Dan.Scales

Thanks Dan.

 

Regards,

Jonas

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community