AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
hinde
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎03-26-2007
Message 1 of 7 (708 Views)

Two lines, one line number

708 Views, 6 Replies
04-25-2007 03:05 PM
I have to tag a pipeline that has the same line number but different spec's.

1"-FG-01017-N-B2-1
1"-FG-01017-N-A2-1

Any clue how to do it?
*Jorge Lopez
Message 2 of 7 (709 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

04-26-2007 11:30 AM in reply to: hinde
In the non-engineering tab of the tool palette, you will find a spec break
item you can drop on the line. Is this what you are looking for?


"Hinde" wrote in message news:5564637@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have to tag a pipeline that has the same line number but different spec's.

1"-FG-01017-N-B2-1
1"-FG-01017-N-A2-1

Any clue how to do it?
Valued Contributor
hinde
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎03-26-2007
Message 3 of 7 (709 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

05-03-2007 03:06 PM in reply to: hinde
Thanks for the help. I have another task for you. I have two lines with the same number but they are totally separate from each other. Any clue?
*Jorge Lopez
Message 4 of 7 (707 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

05-03-2007 09:26 PM in reply to: hinde
Are you referring to the tag or the line number? The line number is on the
group allowing multiple "segments" to share a line number. When is connected
to another line via an off-page connector then each of those lines refer
back to the same record in the project database. Tags as far as I know, need
to be unique and would need to check if there are any special rules for line
tags.

Hope this helps.

wrote in message news:5574588@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks for the help. I have another task for you. I have two lines with the
same number but they are totally separate from each other. Any clue?
New Member
magoo123420
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 5 of 7 (620 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

08-03-2011 12:18 PM in reply to: *Jorge Lopez

I have a diffrent problem...

 

I have secondary line with a segment breaker (spec break) and on the left side of the segment breaker the line number is

xxx-PL-200010-x"-xxx and on the right side of segment breaker the line it is xxx-PL-273007-x"-xx when i insert the segment breaker it wont allow me to name the line segments 2 diffrent line numbers. It wants me to keep them both the same. I have tried everyway possible to try and fix this issue

Active Contributor
MuddyNZ
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 6 of 7 (596 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

08-04-2011 01:33 PM in reply to: magoo123420
Firstly, it is possible to have 2 lines tagged the same even if they are not connected. Not sure why you would want to head this way though. All you have to do is group the lines together and the line numbers will be the same. You can different sizes and spec. However, the Service will have to be the same. Secondly, The reason that the Spec Break symbol doesn't allow 2 different line numbers is because the symbol is classed as a Segment Breaker, rather than a Group Segment Breaker. You'll need to change the symbol in the P&ID Class Definitions to make this work.
Jarrod Mudford
Technical Evangelist \ Applications Engineer
Manufacturing &
Process and Power Plants
AEC Systems Pty Ltd
jarrod.mudford@aecsystems.com.au
www.aecsystems.com.au
Member
javi_cama
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Message 7 of 7 (539 Views)

Re: Two lines, one line number

08-19-2011 01:36 PM in reply to: magoo123420

Hi, you have to right-click in the line that you want to change the Line Number, choose Schematic  Line Edit -> Break and choose a segment to break, then you have to right-click on the line and choose Edit Sline Group, choose the Ungroup option, and then you can have a different line. I hope this help

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.