AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
nikoR
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 1 of 7 (1,081 Views)
Accepted Solution

PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

1081 Views, 6 Replies
02-19-2013 07:25 AM

As there seems to be no easy way to combine pipeline Size information with PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES -tool, is there some trick to overcome this problem? ToString(Size) or ToNumber(Size) don't help.

 

What might be the reason for this? As the Size is typically of the most important data in line info; should be possible to get it...?  

 

Thanks;

Niko

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 660
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 7 (1,063 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

02-19-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: nikoR

You can't.  It's on our list of properties to add in P&ID (we only added it in Plant right now) in our Extended Fields plugin.

 

http://www.pdoteam.com/store/pdo-extended-fields/

 

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Contributor
nikoR
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 3 of 7 (1,022 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

02-22-2013 12:06 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe

OK Thanks Dave. Let me know when you're added it into the Extended Fields plugin.

 

Also hope to get this functionality to basic P&ID product soon to make use of the PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES utility.

Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 4 of 7 (984 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

02-25-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: nikoR

Hy

 

check your PM .

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
Contributor
jhamilton
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-23-2013
Message 5 of 7 (355 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

01-19-2014 08:54 AM in reply to: cadwomen

Actually you can add things like two fields together such as 2 string fields together to create one field or convert a fields to numbers and do math functions.

Example:  If you want to add the values of two fields together it would be (field1llfield2)    (Use the button that looks like two vertical bars or "ll" in between the fields.  Clost both sides of the expression with quotations.

 

To do math it might be something like ToNumber(Field1) + ToNumber (Field2)

Contributor
nikoR
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 6 of 7 (324 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

01-21-2014 01:57 AM in reply to: jhamilton

Thanks, this helped!

 

Especially putting quotations was something I didn't figure before. Size gave an error but "Size" works OK.

 

By the way, is there any possibility to put conditional rules there? E.g. IF field1 is empty THEN choose field2, otherwise field1.

 

--niko

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 660
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 7 (295 Views)

Re: PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES - How to include Pipe size information?

01-22-2014 10:09 AM in reply to: nikoR

Yes, you can format and add values together. No, you still cannot get the Size property. It is calculated on the fly by the program. For some reason, that makes it unavailable in the PLANTDEFINECALCPROPERTIES command (per developers).

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community