AutoCAD P&ID General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 1 of 7 (1,139 Views)

Attribute Blank Space

1139 Views, 6 Replies
11-07-2012 11:13 PM

Hi Forum!

 

I attached to images which describe my problem.

I want to have a blank space in my attribute text, for example:

 

Pressure: #(TargetObject....)

 

In the documentation, it works with blank spaces, however if I try, it doesnt.

 

What can I do here?

 

Thanks for your help!

 

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 2 of 7 (1,131 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-08-2012 02:42 AM in reply to: Heckmeck
It doesn't work from properties palette because AutoCAD does not allow space inside attribute. You should edit that using edit annotation tool (#). It bypass the UI limitation
If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 3 of 7 (1,122 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-08-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: Rave.Tam

Unfortunately that does not work for me.

 

I either get an ()# in front of my desired text with blank spaces, or all letters become capital letters and blank spaces produce an error.

 

I could not find a way to achieve blank spaces, mixed letters and no ()# in front of it, at the same time.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 4 of 7 (1,119 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-08-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: Heckmeck

I write my .net plugin to set the attribute from clipboard. 

 

Another way is to recreate the attribute using "-attdef". When ask for the tag name, just use double quote 

 

"Pressure: #(TargetObject.DesignPressure)"

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com
Mentor
craig.wood
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎02-20-2012
Message 5 of 7 (1,105 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-08-2012 07:13 PM in reply to: Heckmeck

Just use Alt+255 for a space character and it will accept it. Also when the attribute generates a "#()", just edit it again to delete the "#()" from your attribute. It will likely make everything all caps when you do it, but it doesn't effect anything. All caps or no caps yields the same results.

 

Craig

Valued Contributor
Heckmeck
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-10-2011
Message 6 of 7 (1,098 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-09-2012 12:52 AM in reply to: craig.wood

Thanks for the tip with Alt+255!

This works fine, using the ATTDEF dialog.

 

Using project properties, AutoCAD still rejects the space character.

 

Your comment with all caps is true concering the attribute itself, but the dumb text in front really gets all in capital letters, which is not wanted by us.

 

I guess I will live with that....

 

Some might say: Why don't you make the dumb text via an original text field, why must it be in the attribute? I want to achieve, that my attribute is automatically set to the right place, when I change the dumb text in front and has the same textstyle.

 


When using the button to insert drawing properties or userdefined properties (dont know the english name of that button right now) this works perfect, by the way.

 

Thanks again for your answers!

*Expert Elite*
Rave.Tam
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 7 of 7 (1,092 Views)

Re: Attribute Blank Space

11-09-2012 03:12 AM in reply to: craig.wood

great tips!

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

Check out my blog http://lazcad.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD P&ID Category!

The AutoCAD P&ID forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community