AutoCAD Mechanical General

Reply
Member
VDahmer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Message 1 of 8 (2,220 Views)

You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

2220 Views, 7 Replies
02-19-2009 12:54 PM
I have one incompatibility in the come archives of the Autodesk Mechanical Desktop (build in 2D). When I try open in the AutoCad Mechanical is showed the message box:

"You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical. All Autocad Mechanical commands, including SAVE, are now disabled."

In the version 2010 of Inventor the Mechanical desktop will be descontinued. But We have an large legacy base these drawings.
I need use and edit these drawings using the AutoCad Mechanical (have much more resouces of the AutoCad).

Any help, please!
*JohnDoe
Message 2 of 8 (2,220 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

02-19-2009 01:33 PM in reply to: VDahmer
Mech Desktop will no longer be developed, but from what I've read, they
will continue to provide Mech Desktop 2009 in the future if requested.
How long into the future I do not know.
*Paul
Message 3 of 8 (2,220 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

02-19-2009 07:22 PM in reply to: VDahmer

This has been said since at
least R9




JohnDoe wrote:

Mech Desktop will no longer be developed, but from what I've read, they
will continue to provide Mech Desktop 2009 in the future if requested.
How long into the future I do not know.




--





Windows
Vista Ultimate 32 Bit SP1 + Fixes

Intel Pentium 4 Duel core 3.20GHz

4.GB DDR2 800 RAM

Nvida Quradro FX 570

Disk 0 "C" 250GB

Disk 1 "D" 160GB

Disk 2 "E" 80GB SATA

Disk 3 "H" 250GB External Backup clone



Investor Pro 2008 SP3 + Hot-fixes


--





color="#cc0000" face="Script MT Bold">

If
you are ever in doubt ASK


There
will always be some one . . .





This
email
was scanned for all known Viruses, Malware and Spyware prior to it's
dispatch and on its journey through the BT/Yahoo system


Liability
cannot and will not be accepted for any damage to your
computer or network for any lost, corrupted or compromised data cause
by any Viruses, Malware and Spyware

color="#3333ff" face="Times New Roman">






*home52
Message 4 of 8 (2,220 Views)

cancel <6128379@discussion.autodesk.com>

02-19-2009 07:22 PM in reply to: VDahmer
This message was cancelled from within Mozilla.
Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 5 of 8 (2,220 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

02-19-2009 07:24 PM in reply to: VDahmer
Hi,



Mechanical Desktop 3D drawings cannot be edited in AutoCAD Mechanical. This is by Design and has always been like this in the past too.

If you have created 2D views in Mechanical desktop layout, you may export these views and save them in AutoCAD format. (Drawing menu-->Export View)

Always launch AutoCAD Mechanical from Start-->Programs-->Autodesk-->Mechanical Desktop 2009-->AutoCAD Mechanical 2009 unless you have created a separate desktop shortcut for AcadM.

Thanks,

Sridhar

Software QA Engineer

Autodesk, Inc.


Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
*Paul
Message 6 of 8 (2,220 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

02-20-2009 05:37 AM in reply to: VDahmer

There are several "object
enablers"
available at
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334440&linkID=9240898
just follow the on screen instructions.




Sridhar-Autodesk wrote:
Hi,







Mechanical Desktop 3D drawings cannot be edited in AutoCAD Mechanical.
This is by Design and has always been like this in the past too.



If you have created 2D views in Mechanical desktop layout, you may
export these views and save them in AutoCAD format. (Drawing
menu-->Export View)



Always launch AutoCAD Mechanical from
Start-->Programs-->Autodesk-->Mechanical Desktop
2009-->AutoCAD Mechanical 2009 unless you have created a separate
desktop shortcut for AcadM.



Thanks,



Sridhar



Software QA Engineer



Autodesk, Inc.



--





Windows
Vista Ultimate 32 Bit SP1 + Fixes

Intel Pentium 4 Duel core 3.20GHz

4.GB DDR2 800 RAM

Nvida Quradro FX 570

Disk 0 "C" 250GB

Disk 1 "D" 160GB

Disk 2 "E" 80GB SATA

Disk 3 "H" 250GB External Backup clone



Investor Pro 2008 SP3 + Hot-fixes


--





color="#cc0000" face="Script MT Bold">

If
you are ever in doubt ASK


There
will always be some one . . .





This
email
was scanned for all known Viruses, Malware and Spyware prior to it's
dispatch and on its journey through the BT/Yahoo system


Liability
cannot and will not be accepted for any damage to your
computer or network for any lost, corrupted or compromised data cause
by any Viruses, Malware and Spyware

color="#3333ff" face="Times New Roman">






*JohnDoe
Message 7 of 8 (2,220 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

02-20-2009 06:05 AM in reply to: VDahmer
that could very well be the case, I don't know about previous versions.

I know when we received our 2009 software that notice was sent along
with our software
New Member
mlb70
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-20-2012
Message 8 of 8 (1,435 Views)

Re: You cannot edit Autodesk Mechanical Desktop drawings in Autocad Mechanical.

04-20-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: VDahmer

http://www.crtech.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=599

  

The warning indicates that the drawing contains part or assembly definitions that may be empty.

 

To remove empty part or assembly definitions

 

Open the drawing in Mechanical Desktop and use the command AMCATALOG.

On the All tab, search for any part or assembly definitions.

Remove all definitions.

Save the drawing.

 

You will now be able to open the drawing in AutoCAD� Mechanical.

 

This solution obviously requires that you have access to Autodesk Mechanical Desktop. If you do not, or you do not mind losing any Mechanical features (the TD model will still be intact), simply open the model using AutoCAD, not AutoCAD Mechanical. After saving, the file should open in AutoCAD Mechanical.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community