AutoCAD Mechanical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the advantage of having mechanical over autocad?

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
not2013
1943 Views, 16 Replies

What is the advantage of having mechanical over autocad?

I am not sure when mechanical desktop (as it was 1st call or labeled) came out, so I do not know why autodesk came out with it, and what there reasoning was.  Surely there was a reason for it's creation.  But If I already have a 3D software why would I need mech? 

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
Bob_Zurunkle
in reply to: not2013

I am no expert in Mechanical, but we use it for its files of beams, channels and L-shapes. It also creates a lot of fastener assemblies, counterbores etc. It looks to me like it also creates quick view layouts for orthographic projection, sections, auxhilliary views etc. It is built on the AutoCAD platform as a vertical product (as is AutoCAD Architecture), so it facilitates the creation of these assemblies and their drawing layouts faster and more directly than trying to do it with AutoCAD. You also have the option of starting up plain ol' AutoCAD through the Start menu.

Bear in mind I think this predates Inventor for machine design, but it seems to straddle the worlds of machine and structure.

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted 🙂
Message 3 of 17
dgorsman

It includes a number of mechanical-related design tools which are not in the OOTB vanilla AutoCAD product.  This makes it suitable for users who do lightweight mechanical design where they don't need the features found in more complex products such as Inventor or competitors.