In the previous version of AutoCad Mechanical, I was able to creat a block and then by double clicking the block, I was able to modify the block. When I would click the save block button I would be given the option to save the block as a different definitioin or keep it the same. Now that I am using 2013, I do not have this option. Any one have any suggestions?
Solved! Go to Solution.
I believe you want to get into ref edit mode and save changes there when you should see Save References Edits dialog? Have you seen this dialog? I can still see this dialog in my AutoCAD Mechanical 2013.
What about you first use REFEDIT command to get into refedit mode and then type AMREFCLOSE there? Any luck?
When I double click on a block to edit it and then type AMREFCLOSE, while still in refedit, the dialog box that comes up is what used to come up after clicking on the button "Save Reference Edits" in previous versions. Is there anyway to get this dialog box to open up like it has before in previous versions when clicking the save button?
When you click "Save Changes" button in Edit Reference panel in the ribbon, it actually invokes AMREFCLOSE and then you will see Save Reference Edits dialog. Are you saying that you didn't see this dialog come up after click "Save Changes" button?
You are correct michaelsu.
But i found a link on a German website that fixed the issue for me.
I had to convert the web page to english to understand it, but everything worked out great.
it seems the acad and acad mechanical buttons were messed up a bit for 2013 version.
it would be good if AD could fix it... ?
... given that the solution mentioned is on a german website (although it still has good pictures included) i thought that i would briefly summarise,
for those wishing to edit the default command behaviour, here is the workaround with a few quick english notes:
there are several ways to open the customise window, they will fire this command: _.QUICKCUI
then run a find for "block".
then when the window opens, expand the panel on the right.
then right down the bottom you will see two entries relating to this topic. if you click on one you will see the macro on the right side will refer to REFCLOSE, whereas the second one will refer to AMREFCLOSE.
just copy & paste the latter over the former and save.
after customising these things you may find that your workspace has been reset to default. if you do not wish to have to do it all again, then you should save your workspace as "your own workspace" prior to doing any edits in the customisation window.
after you carry out your edits, you can reinstate your own workspace.
at your earliest convenience, you should close autocad and restart it. (if you crash out then some of your customised settings may be lost & you may have to do it all over again).
if you mean a vanilla version of autocad, then unfortunately the option will not work for you, unless you have autocad mechanical.
even if you edit the command, it will error "unknown command, amrefclose". (the "am" is meaning an acad mechanical command).
Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register