AutoCAD Mechanical General

Reply
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 1 of 3 (134 Views)

Products of PDSU 2012 give -18 license error

134 Views, 2 Replies
05-17-2012 02:50 AM

A Network version of PDSU 2012 has been installed in our customers organization. A PDSU 2012 license also has been configured in the AutoCAD server. But there is a licensing issue with software.

 

Say i open AutoCAD Mechanical 2012, it doesn't not open without a error message like it should. It initially tries to pick licenses of other software included in the license file for PDSU 2012, resulting in "-18, FEATURE NOT SUPPORTED" error message. If we keep clicking OK in every error message that pops up, eventually it picks the correct license. (Also the problem is not just with AutoCAD Mechanical but with all the softwares in PDSU)

 

Is there a way to make the software pick the appropriate license at the first go or is there no way out of this.

 

Note: If this was a single software instead of a package, there would have been a possibility of a wrong license to have been configured, but its not. So we are not sure what the problem is. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (96 Views)

Re: Products of PDSU 2012 give -18 license error

05-22-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: prem.savio

This can be caused by a few issues. 

 

1.  Your NLM needs to be upgraded

2.  Your license file is corrupt or has combined licenses incorrectly

3.  You are out of licenses and the product cannot find a suitable Cascade

 

Check the server status and the debug log in LMTOOLS to determine if there is a problem with your licensing. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 3 of 3 (91 Views)

Re: Products of PDSU 2012 give -18 license error

05-22-2012 09:43 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Well if NLM or LICENSE is the problem, then shouldn't it affect the other client systems, where PDSU is installed. But this problem occurs in one particular system.

 

Anyway, we will try doing what you have suggested. And thanks for your interest.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community