AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
VeronicaSmith5891
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
Message 1 of 6 (965 Views)
Accepted Solution

Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

965 Views, 5 Replies
11-11-2011 12:53 PM

I got a double upgrade at work.  They upgraded me from Windows XP to Windows 7 AND they upgraded my AutoCAD Mechanical 2011 to 2012.  Now I cannot get my printer to stay defaulted; it always says none.  It is set correctly n the Tools/Options/Plot and Publish.  But everytime I try to print an existing draiwng the default is not there.  I get a popup message that says the the plotter configuration cannot be found and the None printer device has been substituted.  If I go to the Page Setup Manager it will have no device set.  I can change it but it will not keep.  When I get out of that drawing and open another it will be back to no device.  I set this on my default new drawing so any new drawings I make default to our printer.  But I just can't get it to keep on any existing drawing. 

 

I can't use the Publish option because of this and if I have multiple drawings to print I have to change the printer every single time.  I even tried clicking on the Apply to Layout button on the printer screen after I set it but it won't keep either.

 

Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance!

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 619
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 6 (924 Views)

Re: Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

11-21-2011 05:34 PM in reply to: VeronicaSmith5891

Can you able to plot through other softwares like word correctly. Did you check inside control panel -> Devices & Printer, whether the printer you are trying to use in AutoCAD has been set as a default printer. Do try and let us know.

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 



Vinod Balasubramanian
Active Member
bullwinkle926
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2007
Message 3 of 6 (654 Views)

Re: Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

11-12-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: VinodBalasubramanian

I have the same problem with Auto Cad Mechanical 2012, and yes the other softwares work just fine. No matter what I do it always looks for a printer that isn't there and defaults to "none". Has anyone come up with a solution?

Gary

Employee
michaelsu
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎07-11-2008
Message 4 of 6 (639 Views)

Re: Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

11-13-2012 11:21 PM in reply to: bullwinkle926

Hello,

 

Plot settings are stored in each file, in each tab, separately from the system. Have you tried changing the PAGESETUP option on your default template?

Thanks.
Michael Su
SQA Engineer
Autodesk
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Active Member
bullwinkle926
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-22-2007
Message 5 of 6 (633 Views)

Re: Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

11-14-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: michaelsu

Yes, I sent an email to Veronica Smith (the originator of this post) and she told me the same thing. So my problem is solved, is this something new for 2012?

Employee
michaelsu
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎07-11-2008
Message 6 of 6 (631 Views)

Re: Printer Default in 2012 will not stay current

11-14-2012 06:58 PM in reply to: bullwinkle926

No, it's legacy in AutoCAD.

Thanks.
Michael Su
SQA Engineer
Autodesk
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community