AutoCAD Mechanical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In place dimension edit

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
schnautza
5115 Views, 5 Replies

In place dimension edit

I'm new to AutoCAD Mechanical 2014 (I mostly use Inventor lately) - and I'm not a fan of the AM power dimensions - so I've set up my dimensioning to use the basic DIMLINEAR, DIMALIGNED, DIMANGULAR, and QDIM instead of AMPOWERDIM.

Untitled.png

Why? I don't want it to automatically assign a layer to my dimensions - and despite my scalping the internet for answers, I can't find a solution for that. So that is why I am not using AMPOWERDIM.

I've also disabled the context ribbon for dimensions as I find it annoying.

So now I am facing a new problem - my in-place dimension editing capabilities are gone. If I double-click on a dimension, I expect to just edit the text right there...instead the AMPOWEREDIT command runs and brings up a power dimensioning dialogue box. How do I disable this??? It is slowing me down.

Untitled.png

I thought I woudl find the answer here, as there is an option for "display dimension text editor" (OPTIONS>AM:STANDARDS, double click to edit dimension settings

Untitled.png

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
michaelsu
in reply to: schnautza

Hi,

From the snapshot, it seems the ribbon is on so I think you may check whether AMPOWERDIMEDITOR is set to 1.

The place you are looking in the Dimension Setting dialog is the setting which you can control whether you want to see contextual tab or power dimension dialog when you place the dimension. "Only on demand" means you only see contextual tab or power dimension dialog by editing dimension, like double click or AMPOWEREDIT.