AutoCAD Mechanical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export to STEP file

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
marksmithayr
9920 Views, 14 Replies

Export to STEP file

Much of the content of my exported STEP file is missing 

I am using AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 & SolidWorks 2013

Can you give basic advise on what may be wrong, apart from the part I'm no expert in either package.

Thanks

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
michaelsu
in reply to: marksmithayr

I am not sure how you exported STEP in Solidworks. If you want to do it in AutoCAD Mechanical, you can first use IMPORT command to import the models into AutoCAD Mechanical. Then use STEPOUT to export the step file.

If that doesn't help, please send me (zhiyuan.su@autodesk.com) a sample model for a look.

Thanks.
Michael Su
SQA Engineer
Autodesk
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark any response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Message 3 of 15
m_latz
in reply to: marksmithayr

STEPOUT in AutoCAD supports two different AP's (Application Protocol) 203 C2/C4/C6 and 214 C2.

But STEP files make only sense if you export 3D solid models.

For a complete translation scheme from AutoCAD entities to STEP entities AP203/AP2014 see the step help file in your AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 installation at C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\Help\step_16_0.chm.

And if you export from AutoCAD to Solidworks and there is something missing that should there try the "cycle test".

After exporting from AutoCAD to STEP make an IMPORT to AutoCAD again. If then is something missing, that should not, according the translation scheme in the help file, then you have a problem.

Hope that helps.

Message 4 of 15
JDMather
in reply to: m_latz