AutoCAD Mechanical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
tomjames3d
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2007
Message 1 of 6 (300 Views)

AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

300 Views, 5 Replies
06-23-2011 12:36 PM

I am setting up a standards DWT file and require:

  • 4 different borders (A,B,C,D size)
  • 4 different titleblocks (A,B,C,D size)
  • 2 different revision block types (A size, all others)

The problem is that when I add a line to the revision via AMREVLINE there seems to be 4 ways of doing so and each yields different results.

 

Start the AMREVLINE command then:

  1. press enter for global
  2. select the border
  3. select the titleblock
  4. select one of the previous lines

The behavior is different for each of the different layouts I create via AMTITLE.

 

test one: no selection on initial insertion (global)

          none     border     titleblock     revline

a          new     new          new          new

b          new     adds          adds          new

c          adds     new          new          adds

d          adds     new          new          adds

 

test two: border selection on initial insertion

same results as above

 

 

The new revision row will either be added to the prior list or create a new one.

 

What are the rules of AMREVLINE row addition?

 

TomPy

 

Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,097
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 2 of 6 (294 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

06-23-2011 08:36 PM in reply to: tomjames3d

Hi,

 

Global Space will insert a new revline always.  Whereas Border/Titleblock will add a revline to the last inserted revline.

 

Please see below example.

 

Scenario-1

 

  1. Insert a revline using Global (P1)
  2. amrevline>>Select Border/Titleblock>>will add to the revline inserted in step-1

Scenario-2

 

  1. Insert a revline using Global (arbitrary P1)
  2. amrevline>>Select Border/Titleblock>>will add to the revline inserted in step-1 (will add to P1)
  3. Insert a revline using Global (arbitrary P2)
  4. amrevline>>Select Border/Titleblock>>will add to the revline inserted in step-3 (will add to P2)

Therefore use Global option only when you insert a revline for the first time.  Thereafter, I would suggest you to use Border/Titleblock option to add subsequent revlines.

 

Hope this helps

 

Thanks,

 



Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
tomjames3d
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2007
Message 3 of 6 (260 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

07-05-2011 10:15 AM in reply to: Sridhar-Autodesk

In your Scenario-1, two of my four sizes are working as you suggest and two are not.

C & D sizes are working perfectly.

However, the A & B sizes are not.

 

I did a further test using the following:

D Titleblock with B Border = Works as you have described

B Titleblock with D Border = Works as you have described

A Titleblock with D Border = Works as you have described

D Titleblock with A Border = Works as you have described

But

B Titleblock with B Border = just keeps adding new revline sets

A Titleblock with A Border = just keeps adding new revline sets

 

My method for the test was:

  1. start a new file
  2. AMTITLE (selecting the appropriate border/titleblock)
  3. AMREVLINE (hitting 'return' for global space, type in a revision number, place the revision line set via snapping to a titleblock line)
  4. AMREVLINE (selecting the previously added Revision line, typing in the next revision number)

Any ideas why I could be seeing this behaviour?

TomPy

Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,097
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 4 of 6 (244 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

07-06-2011 07:24 PM in reply to: tomjames3d

In your method of test, on step 3 and 4, can you always select Border (instead of Global) and verify if it adds a revline to previous one?

 

Thanks,

 



Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
tomjames3d
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-01-2007
Message 5 of 6 (222 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

07-28-2011 04:33 PM in reply to: Sridhar-Autodesk

The issue is that the behaviour is different for C and D sizes. What is the issue with the different behaviour for the different sizes?

 

I am very tired of chasing this issue in circles. can I send someone a data set and have thenm just solve it?

 

Tom

Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,097
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 6 of 6 (217 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Mechanical AMREVLINE behavior

07-28-2011 07:31 PM in reply to: tomjames3d

Can you zip and attach the file to this thread or send them at sridharDOTsubramaniATautodeskDOTcom

 

Also let me know AutoCAD Mechanical version and operating system.

 

Thanks,



Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community