AutoCAD Mechanical General

Reply
Contributor
brian.wolfenberger
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 1 of 8 (1,080 Views)

2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

1080 Views, 7 Replies
10-27-2009 08:31 AM
I am in the process of migrating our existing files up to the latest version for our new Global Standard. When I try and change our layer standard to the the Global Standard the Lines and Text do not change because they are not made on BYLAYER. I used the command LAYTRANS. Is there anyway of changing the ACMWELDSYM shape lines and text from a set layer to be BYLAYER?
Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 2 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

10-27-2009 07:27 PM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger
Hi Brian,
AutoCAD Mechanical Symbols follows an Automatic layer management where each mechanical symbol or power dimension will be created on a designated layer. If you prefer to have your company specific layer management, find attach image for procedure. The image talks about modifying dimension layer, you may select "Mechanical Symbols" option on Step-5
Let me know if this helps.
Thanks,
Sridhar
Software QA Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.


Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
brian.wolfenberger
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 3 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-02-2009 08:14 AM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger
I am trying to fix this text in AutoCAD 2008 Mechanical.. I attached the drawing that the Text for the Weld Symbols are not correct. Edited by: brian.wolfenberger@metso.com on Nov 2, 2009 11:15 AM
Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 4 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-02-2009 07:25 PM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger

The weld symbols are created based in NORM Standard but a different standard is active in the drawing.
1. Command amoptions>>AM:smileyfrustrated:tandards Tab>>From the standards dropdown>>Choose Norm Standard
2. Double click on Layers/Objects
3. Uncheck "Use Automatic property management" >>OK>>OK
4. Double click any of the weld symbol in the drawing>>Settings>>Change Arrow type and Text to "Bylayer" from the dropdown>.OK
5. Having done this, all the symbols based on the "Annotate" Layer color
6. If you would like to have the weld symbol lines to be in the color of your choice, Command amoptions>>AM:smileyfrustrated:tandards Tab>>Double click on NORM>>Change the mechanical symbol color from yellow to color 40.

Find attached drawing with the above modifications.

Note: From now on, new mechanical symbols will be created on the current layer.

Let me know if this helps. OR, please let me know the expected behavior and I will try to provide you the steps.

Thanks,
Sridhar



Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
brian.wolfenberger
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 5 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-03-2009 06:18 AM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger
Is there anyway to update the older style to the new style ?
Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 6 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-03-2009 05:44 PM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger

Are you referring to text style? If yes, the text style can be changed from Command amoptions>>AM:smileyfrustrated:tandards Tab>>Double click on NORM>>In the Standard Setting dialog>>change the text style from the "Style" drop down. Image attached.
Thanks,
Sridhar



Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
brian.wolfenberger
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-13-2003
Message 7 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-04-2009 04:57 AM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger
I meant the standard. I there anyway to change the SYMBOLS and NOTES standard from NORM to MPR-ANSI-INCH?
Employee
Sridhar-Autodesk
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎12-18-2006
Message 8 of 8 (1,080 Views)

Re: 2004-2010 Mechanical Weld Symbols - Layer Translate - acmweldsym

11-04-2009 06:39 AM in reply to: brian.wolfenberger
We cannot translate mechanical symbols from one standard to another. The current workflow is to recreate the symbols based on required standard.
Thanks,
Sridhar


Sridhar Subramani
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community