AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,935
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 15 (98 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-03-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: parkr4st

parkr4st wrote:

should the first break point be 5.51,0,5.51?  Your input gives the break at 7.7405,0,7.7405 for me

 

Thanks

 

dave

 

 


That's the difference between 2006 and 2010 & up, Relative and absolute coordinates on input from the keyboard.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
User48
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-21-2010
Message 12 of 15 (89 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Can you provide a complete working script?  This content based on your posts does break the 3DPOLY but it breaks it at the wrong elevation.  Please provide a full script to demonstrate breaking it at elevation 5.51.

 

-------------------

_3DPOLY

0,0,0
10,0,10

_BREAK
_L
10,0,5.51
@

-------------------

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,596
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 13 of 15 (79 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: User48

My fault, gentlemen, I wish to apologize for that, 'cause the point 10,0,5.51 does not belong to the line 0,0,0-10,0,10 indeed.

I don't see an easy solution, I mean without using trigonometry.

On the other hand, the _SLICE command (by Z=5.51 plane) works only with solids, not with simple lines.

Sorry again...

 

 

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 1,889
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 14 of 15 (74 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 12:20 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

 

Hello

 

Sorry for my answer, I thought that Antonio has the right solution !?

 

Maybe I have a "stupid/bad" solution which needs a few commands !

So a Lisp/VLisp programm will be very useful ...

 

Draw a SOLID (Box in fact) : Height = 5.51 - which "includes the line" ...

Explode the SOLID, so you get 3DFaces ...

Draw a Line from (.xy) at beginning (Snap=END) of your line (0,0,0)

when asking for Z; click with (Snap=NEA) at the Face (which is at Z=5.51)

then draw the line with Ortho ...

 

I think that the Intersection of your first line and "my" line is the point you were looking for !?

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 15 of 15 (66 Views)

Re: trim or break a 3dpolyline at a specific z coord

07-04-2013 06:09 PM in reply to: shallowhead

If you were to consider third party software, MapWorks Base contains two tools to handle this.  First is 3dPoly Mark Elevations which marks all points of a specified elevation along a selection set of 3dPolylines.  Second (and most important in this case) is 3dPoly Break At Elevation which breaks a selected 3dPoly at a specified elevation along a segment (also preserves Extended Entity Data on the newly created polyline).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community