AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Member
dtdstudio
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-27-2006
Message 1 of 7 (149 Views)

inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

149 Views, 6 Replies
12-18-2006 02:40 PM
I have GIS shapefiles from two different states that I am trying to insert into Autodesk Map. Once importing is complete, the data does not line up. How do I correct this if the state's data was given in different coordinate systems and/or projections?
*James Murphy
Message 2 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

12-18-2006 04:20 PM in reply to: dtdstudio
Assign a coordinate system to your dwg first then when you import the shp
files they should have a coordinate system assigned to them that will
convert to your system .If they don't have an assigned coordinate system
(prj file in the same folder) you can assign one to it on import.

--

Murph
The world is not FLAT so why is your GIS data?
http://mappingitout.blogspot.com/
wrote in message news:5429482@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have GIS shapefiles from two different states that I am trying to insert
into Autodesk Map. Once importing is complete, the data does not line up.
How do I correct this if the state's data was given in different coordinate
systems and/or projections?
Distinguished Contributor
slaxton
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎02-15-2006
Message 3 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

01-23-2007 02:10 PM in reply to: dtdstudio
I am experiencing a similar problem. I have inserted sid files using data connect into my drawing that i assigned a coordinate system to. when i "drag and drop" a shp file with a different coordinate system in, it doesn't convert. how do i change the coordinate systems to be consistent...i would prefer to change the shp files coordinate system, but i can't seem to stumble across the command.

again, thanks in advance for your help. it appears that you reply to a lot of the posts. you're blog has some great information on it.

i am using Map 3D via the Civil 3D package, don't know if you need to know or not.
Distinguished Contributor
slaxton
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎02-15-2006
Message 4 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

01-23-2007 02:15 PM in reply to: dtdstudio
no sooner did i post this question did i discover how to change the coordinate systems.

if you don't mind telling me if i did it right...i removed the shp file and then before i added it i changed the coordinate system then hit add...worked fine.
*Murph
Message 5 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

01-23-2007 02:50 PM in reply to: dtdstudio
If it worked then I say yes you did it right. : ) In the import dialog is
the option to set the coorinate system that the shp file is in, and as long
as the dwg has an assigned coordinate system to it it should work.
Thanks for the comment on the blog.

Murph

wrote in message news:5461374@discussion.autodesk.com...
no sooner did i post this question did i discover how to change the
coordinate systems.

if you don't mind telling me if i did it right...i removed the shp file and
then before i added it i changed the coordinate system then hit add...worked
fine.
Distinguished Contributor
slaxton
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎02-15-2006
Message 6 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

01-24-2007 07:42 AM in reply to: dtdstudio
I spoke too soon...very frustrating. Let me explain exactly what i'm doing...i start a new drawing using the map 2d template (i have map 3d as a package w/ civil 3d), then save it to my desktop, next, using the task pane, map explorer, i change the coordinate system (missouri nad 83 east, foot if it matters), then i drag and drop my shp files from windows explorer, then, using the data connect window, i select the shp file folder, select the corresponding coordinate system and hit add to map. the two particular shp files that i am using, one is assigned the utm83-15 and the other doesn't have a coordinate system assigned. when i change coordinate sytems to each shp file, they come in in different areas.

also, i've tried to file/import the shp files and they don't convert to the assigned coordinate system either.

from this can you tell what i'm missing? thanks.
*Murph
Message 7 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: inserting shapefiles with different coordinate systems/projections

01-24-2007 10:20 AM in reply to: dtdstudio
First when you use drap and drop from window explorer it automatically adds
it to the map not allowing you to select a coordinate system.
Second if there is not a .prj file in the same folder with the shp file then
Map and the FDO will use unkown as the coordinate system. You can try to
assign one to it from the FDO data connect before you add it to the map.

Murph


wrote in message news:5462123@discussion.autodesk.com...
I spoke too soon...very frustrating. Let me explain exactly what i'm
doing...i start a new drawing using the map 2d template (i have map 3d as a
package w/ civil 3d), then save it to my desktop, next, using the task pane,
map explorer, i change the coordinate system (missouri nad 83 east, foot if
it matters), then i drag and drop my shp files from windows explorer, then,
using the data connect window, i select the shp file folder, select the
corresponding coordinate system and hit add to map. the two particular shp
files that i am using, one is assigned the utm83-15 and the other doesn't
have a coordinate system assigned. when i change coordinate sytems to each
shp file, they come in in different areas.

also, i've tried to file/import the shp files and they don't convert to the
assigned coordinate system either.

from this can you tell what i'm missing? thanks.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community