AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
siddharthsingh199199
313 Views, 10 Replies

help

to learn autocad map 3D..is it necessary to learn autocad?

if yes then what are the areas that one should concentrate while learning autocad?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

1. to learn Autocad Map, you don't need to know plain Autocad: you have to know geography and/or cartography, sir
  2. moreover, study database fundaments
  3. as last advice, in plain Autocad you should train paperspace theory to create clever maps
Message 3 of 11

thanks for the info...i am a graduate in geology...could you please tell me which software would be better for my field?

Message 4 of 11

I say yes, you need to learn AutoCAD. If you can't draw lines, circles, arcs or plines you will have a hard time creating new features. Areas to concentrate on would be text/mtext, object snaps, blocks and attributes, scale factors and plotting. then there is hatching and solid fill along with line types and all the different styles and fonts. Then comes the paper space and model space as to what goes into what, now throw in external references and images.

Murph
Supporting the troops daily.
Message 5 of 11

thankyou for help..learning autocad from a professional source will be necessary before going for autocad map 3D?

i want to know this because the cost to learn these software from an authorised centres is pretty expensive...

Message 6 of 11

Hi,

I think it depends on what you want/need to do with AC Map. You can - without AC knowledge - use many of the GIS features. Adding a ESRI shape file and creating a basic themed map is pretty easy and the dialogues are not difficult to understand.