AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 1 of 5 (238 Views)
Accepted Solution

exporting cad entities nightmare

238 Views, 4 Replies
06-18-2013 11:49 PM

Hi

 

The more I am taking steps backward in simplying a simple testcase to get cad entities exported, the more problems are popping up.

 

Now I have a simple polyline which I am trying to get into other formats.

 

I tested now the mapepxort to sqlite (db)file.

 

mapepxort

select sqlite from the filetype

pick a location and type a target filename

then the command closes without any further steps or dialogs.

 

both for 2013 & 2014

 

I found this thread:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Map-3D/export-to-shp-file-in-2014/m-p/3914009/highlight/true#M...

 

and a similar one for 2013 but they seem to focus on Shape file.

 

What is going on with the export capabilities of cad entities?

 

Any input?

 

Luc

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,865
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (234 Views)

Re: exporting cad entities nightmare

06-19-2013 02:10 AM in reply to: luc.vanlinden

Hi,

 

well, you've found another mistake in the providers.xml (for 2014 which I currently tested.

 

I've modified the PROVIDERS.XML now in the same manner like the first repair, doubled the entry for SQLite-spatial and changed the version (in the name of the copy) from 3.8 to 3.7.

The problem (I think) is that Autodesk uses different driver-initializations for FDO-functions and for MAPEXPORT/MAPIMPORT-funcionality, so they need the 3.7-syntax to get MAPEXPORT running.

The disadvantage of this method (to declare 3.8 and 3.7 in the same PROVIDERS.XML) is that you get the providers listed twice in the DATACONNECT dialog. Therefor or I additially changed the file from Autodesk to have 3.7 included in the file AND i put the version number 3.7 or 3.8 in the displayname so I see what provider I selected (3.8 is to be preferred here):

 

2013-06-19 11-06-14.png

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
Robert_Fritz
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 3 of 5 (220 Views)

Re: exporting cad entities nightmare

06-19-2013 05:01 AM in reply to: luc.vanlinden

Hi Luc,

 

mapexport works fine  for me with M2013SP1 (SHP; SQLite). With map 2014 it's as you  described with sqlite but works for SHP. Both on W7, 64bit.

 

I haven't done much CAD export to Oracle or GIS file formats but with Map 2013 I did a test with "CONVERT TO INDUSTRY MODEL" which worked well. It does CAD to GIS conversion but requires an enterprise industry model in Oracle. Anyway - cad to gis export should work of course.

 

Rob

http://raumpatrouille3d.blogspot.ch/
Active Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 4 of 5 (191 Views)

Re: exporting cad entities nightmare

06-20-2013 01:30 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred

 

Thank you very much. This did the trick.

 

This way we can still apply the feature classification and get it out into sqlite and use ogr directly to Oracle.as fall back for the Oracle export which is still an issue (under investigation).

 

Vielen dank!

 

Luc

Active Contributor
luc.vanlinden
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎03-23-2012
Message 5 of 5 (188 Views)

Re: exporting cad entities nightmare

06-20-2013 01:37 PM in reply to: Robert_Fritz

Hi Rob

 

Thank you for your input.

The sqlite is fixed by alfreds input.

 

I know the convert to industry models but it has its own constrints: as you said, having the full indstry models deployed in Oracle.

2nd does not support the feature classes (classification) based mapping. This would mean (should one go with industry models) redoing again teh classification mapping (to a certain extend).

 

tx

 

Luc

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community